Wednesday Word: Humble


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is HUMBLE

I looked up the definition of HUMBLING and this it what I found:

  • causing awareness of your shortcomings
  • making you realize that you are not as good as you thought


I have not found anything as humbling as running!!!

RUNNING IS HARD!!

  • Running up hills is humbling!

18800157512_6d733af825_o This was at the beginning of my last half marathon (and at the end)!!

  • Running injured is humbling!

rw_5k_a

I hadn’t been diagnosed yet but I was in pain and it turned out to be a stress fracture in my right foot. I ran 2 races with that injury.  I have also run with a broken foot in addition to other less serious injuries.

  • Running in adverse temps (cold, hot, rain, etc.) is humbling!

1798082_684504678254632_1919006174_n

lr2

I ran the Love Run Half Marathon in Philly in cold monsoon-like rain. I also ran 2 other halfs in the rain, one in the freezing temps of January and one in the heat and humidity of July.  All were very tough, to say the least.

  • Running after a long layoff is humbling!

2

This photo was taken after finishing a half marathon in March 2013. It was 16 months after serious ankle surgery. My previous half had been in November 2011.  It was definitely harder than I thought it would be.

  • Falling during a race is humbling!

Mastodon Challenge 5K
Unfortunately it has happened to me twice.  Both times, I was just cut up and not seriously injured.

  • Trying to run fast is humbling!
image

A flat course where it all just went wrong!!

Often, you get spoiled and when you have a good race, you think all of the ones after will be.

Not so!!

I ran a half in 2:09 and then the next one I struggled to finish in 2:20, and the 2 after that were even slower.  Humbling!!

I’ve had the same experience with 5ks lately.

and I think MOST DAYS RUNNING IS HARD and sometimes IT IS also HUMBLING!

Happy Running! What do you find humbling?

runner-sig

14 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Humble

  1. I think I’m humbled every time I run. It is never easy. And that’s probably what keeps me going back for more! A great pic of your injury! Makes you look like one TOUGH chic.

    Like

  2. I have had all of those humbling experiences! Falling in a race is both humbling, and embarrassing! I think in running, and in life, we are better than we think and not quite what we want to be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

