Wednesday Word: Modest


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is MODEST

I looked up the definition of MODEST and this it what I found:

  • unassuming or moderate in the estimation of one’s abilities or achievements
  • not too proud or confident about yourself or your abilities
  • not showing or feeling great or excessive pride

I am most definitely modest.  In fact, I may be too modest.

When someones says: “Boy, you’re fast.”  I always respond: “Not really.  Many runners are much faster than I am.”

When someone says: “You’re amazing. You run half marathons.” I respond: “It’s hard but anyone can too. You just have to want to and train for it.”

When someone says: “You’re always winning awards.” I respond: “That’s because I am old. Less competition at my age.”

I hate to boast and I don’t really think I am doing anything extraordinary.

Of course, I am proud of what I achieve, but I never wear my medals in public.  I take a photo and then put them away.

IMG_5868

In fact, my friends who do not run do not even know about most of my races and they have no idea that I have a blog or a FB page. Not even my husband knows about my blog.

I am always surprised when I PR or have a fast time in a race. I am just not confident that I can run fast.

race_697_photo_14832070

shocked at my half marathon PR??

Until recently, I never joined a running group because I was “modest” about my running abilities.  I didn’t think I was fast enough and didn’t want to run alone.

frwtraining3

I will run with a slower runner.  I don’t mind at all. I would hate for someone to say that “I was too slow” to run with.

IMG_6042

Judy thinks that I am too fast for her but it is not true.

Happy Running! Are you modest?

runner-sig

17 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Modest

  1. I think I’m modest. I run with a club and they announce when people get a PR or a win of any kind. I don’t mind people knowing that I ran well, but I feel embarrassed by the announcement.
    I was reluctant to join a running club also, but it was one of the best things I could have done as a runner.
    For some club runs I am the last in the pack or run with the new folks trying us out. I don’t mind.

    Like

  2. Your husband doesn’t know about your blog? How is that even possible? Mine actually reads mine. Sometimes I have to be careful about what I say.

    Yes, you are modest & there’s nothing wrong with that, but there’s nothing wrong with owning your accomplishments, either.

    I know a few runners who would be well suited to you – much better than me!

    Like

    • My blog is my private space. My friends don’t know about it either. I prefer that just running folks read it because they’ll get it.

      Like

      • I didn’t ask my husband to read it, but it doesn’t really bother me that it does. I just can’t imagine not telling him about it & we’re not one of those joined at the hip couples. Most of my friends are running friends.

        Like

        • My husband isn’t interested in technology or social networking…he doesn’t do facebook, instagram and would have no idea what a blog is. Then again I could care less about planes, trains and automobiles, how they work and taking them apart. To each his own.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. you’re definitely modest, Madame! modesty is a good thing — just don’t lose your sense of pride in your accomplishments or think you’re less of a runner than anyone else, because you’re wonderful and have so much to be proud of! i can’t believe hubby doesn’t know about your blog! you’re a lovely woman. 🙂

    Like

  4. I think you do a great job sharing your love of running and what it does for you.
    My hubby reads my blog and points out my typos quite often lol
    My answers are similar to yours. In the big pond of runners I know I am not excellent, but I do feel good about what I do accomplish like you do 🙂 and we should!

    Like

  5. You kind of described me too! Not too many people know about my blog either – it’s like I have a running life and an other life! I don’t usually post too much about running on Facebook because that’s where all my family and regular friends are; but on Instagram and blog I talk about running. Your post really resonated with me.

    Like

  6. What!? Your husband doesn’t know about your blog? That’s crazy. I don’t really bring up my blog with most people, but my family and closest friends know about it.

    I’m really bad about accepting compliments, too, to the point of sometimes annoying the person trying to compliment me (often my husband). I’m always intimidated about trying a running group, too, because I’m afraid of slowing someone down. But if I ran with someone else and I had to slow down a bit it wouldn’t bother me at all.

    Like

  7. My husband, sons, and DIL were a huge part of me starting my blog. We brainstormed about the name, my goals, etc. My husband used to read it every day, and has even written a couple of guest posts. He’s a runner, too, so that makes a huge difference.

    Thanks for linking up! Have a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

