Running Survey


I thought that it would be fun to start the weekend off with a survey all about running! We know how running bloggers love to talk about running!

Feel free to answer some of the questions in the comments or if you are a blogger yourself, answer these on your blog! Let me know if you do!

Would you rather run along a beach path or a mountain trail?

A beach path but unfortunately I don’t live near a beach but if I did, I would.  I’m not much for trail running but I do love mountain views.

runeast

while on vacation in FL.

20140111-205841.jpg

while on vacation in CA.

If you could choose the flavor of Gatorade at your next race’s aid states, what would it be?
This is hard since I’ve never had Gatorade but I guess it would be grape or cherry?


If I have you a $100 gift card to a running store, what would be the first thing that you would purchase with it?

Most likely running shoes. Not that I need any new ones.

IMG_6057

my latest

Do you prefer to follow a training plan or wake up and decide then how far and how fast you want to run?
Most of the time, it’s how much time I have so that’s how far I can run and how I feel is how fast I run.  If I am training for a half marathon, I increase my long runs by one mile each week for 12 weeks.

IMG_4781
Would you rather start your run with the uphill and end on the downhill or start your run with the downhill and end with the uphill?
Definitely start uphill and end downhill.  I would much rather get it over with than have to think about the uphill throughout the whole downhill run.

IMG_6074

during a recent uphill start

When you can’t run, what type of cross-training do you choose to do?
If I am healthy, then it’s definitely tennis.  I am not, then it’s biking.

IMG_6209

weekly doubles

it was so warm out!

after my ankle surgery in 2012, biking was the first thing I could do

What is your preference: out and back, point to point, or loop runs?
I love loop runs because you have different scenery.  But if I don’t know the area or I’m on a trail, then it’s out and back.

IMG_5985

loop at Peeples State Park

out and back on the bike path

If you could recommend ANY running related item to a new runner, it would be a…
A good pair of running shoes. Running can be SO painful with the wrong shoes, so I highly recommend any new runner to go to a running shoe store and get properly fitted for the right pair of shoes.

IMG_3985

in my favorite Mizuno Wave Rider 18s

Do you ever see any wild animals while out on your runs?
I’ve seen a lot of deer, foxes, possums and rabbits. That’s it.

deer at the top

Ever gotten lost while out on a run?
Yes, a few times. When I run in new neighborhoods or parks.

got lost here around the Schroon River area

If you could have one meal waiting and ready for you each time you got home from a run for the next 30 days… what would that meal be?
A pizza with ice cream for dessert.

coffee_ice_cream
Capris or shorts… what do you run in most often?
Neither.  Skirts!!

IMG_6129

At what mile (or how many minutes) into your run does your body start to feel like it is warming up and ready to go?

I warm up quickly. Probably at the 1/2 mile point.  But it depends on how long the run is.

VCM Relay

early in the VCM relay

What do you do with your key when you run?
It depends what I am wearing.  Usually I put it in the pocket of my skirt. In a long race, and my pockets are full of gels, I put it in my Spibelt.

before
If you could relive any race that you have done in the past, which one?
I guess I would have to say my first half marathon. It was my first half marathon and I was so happy with the accomplishment of completing it.

nhm finish

Jan 2011

What type of run is your least favorite type of run?
I suppose it would be hard runs like intervals, tempos, hill repeats, etc. I suck at them so I probably should do more of them.
IMG_4023

What has been your biggest motivation lately to get out the door to get your run on?
I sign up for races so I also know that if I don’t run several times a week, I will be very disappointed in my performance.

IMG_6162

squeezing in a run on the weekend before boating.

When you go for a run, do you leave right from your front door or do you drive somewhere to start?
That depends on where I am.  On a weekend, if I run before work, I leave from my front door and often after work, I leave right from work.  But I get bored so I do drive after work and on weekend to different places to run.

IMG_6192

at home

IMG_6042

driving to the Crossings after work

When running in daylight: are sunglasses a must or an annoyance?
A must.  Always wear them even if it is cloudy.

on the Corning Bike path

When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting?
My running goals and that usually involves a certain distance or time for a race.

image

Happy Running! Answer one, answer a few, answer any of the questions above in the answers below!
I can’t wait to read your responses!

runner-sig

3 thoughts on “Running Survey

  1. I’m just gonna answer the first question. My favorite place to run is at the beach and I am fortunate enough to be able to do that. I would have answered a lot of the questions the same as you. Have a good weekend!

    Like

  2. I love your collection of skirts! I like running in a skirt as well.
    I am with you, I love pizza! extra cheesy please 🙂
    You have some really nice run spots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

