Wednesday Word: Inspirational


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is INSPIRATIONAL

I looked up the definition of INSPIRATIONAL and this it what I found: Imparting inspiration.

So what is INSPIRATION?

a person, place, experience, etc., that makes someone want to do something

In this case, the something is run and even more specifically, run stronger, run farther, run faster.

So here are some of my inspirations:

  • Strong Running Mamas

This group of beginning runners and their enthusiasm inspired me to go from just running 5ks to 10ks, 15ks and half marathons.

  • Bloggers

There are too many to mention but I read their blogs and learn from their experiences.  They inspire me to be a better runner (and better does not necessarily mean faster.)

  • Races

Register for The Biggest Loser RunWalk at www.biggestloser.com/runwalk

Every time, I run a race, even it’s not my best, I can’t wait to run another race.  Races are an inspiration.

  • Scenic Places.

denver2

I love to run in different places. When I pass or visit a beautiful place, I always want to run there. What an inspiration!

  • Running Friends
IMG_6231

Judy inspires me with her healthy cooking, her training plans and her positive attitude to running

image

Mary inspires me with her distances and her ability to come back after injuries

and Harriette Thompson who ran a marathon at age 92.

They seem ageless. Could anything be more inspirational that that??

Happy Running! What is inspirational for you?

runner-sig

8 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Inspirational

  1. Hariette Thompson, that is something. I have her picture saved on my computer 🙂
    I always do that too, I will see a pretty path and think I want to run there lol

    Like

  2. Harriette is definitely inspiring, as are you. You’ll be Harriette some day.

    As to the healthy cooking, it actually is therapeutic for me. Even when I worked outside the home full time+, I cooked & baked. Not quite as much, of course. Probably not quite as healthy either . . . it’s a long journey that is never over & constantly changing.

    It’s in the genes, I guess. My grandmother & mother were both talented cooks/bakers (although I am self taught because my mother didn’t like help in the kitchen).

    Like

  3. This was a good time for me to read this. I am really struggling with emotions about being able to run my first marathon, which I’m sure everyone goes through. This post was inspiring to read, and Hariette Thompson is inspiring too!!

    Like

  4. What a great list of inspirations you came up with! I am very much inspired by the older runners, and I hope to be half as inspiring when I’m that age.

    Thanks for linking up! Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

