Silks & Satins 5K Race Recap


This was once one of my favorite 5ks.  I ran it in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

in 2008 – my first year of running and I was skinnier

But I haven’t run it since 2010.

in 2010, this is where I met AJH for the first time (I was wearing shorts back then.)

I met Mary at many races back then including this one in 2010.

It’s funny how things have changed. AJH was trying to convince me to run a longer race.  Since then I have completed 14 half marathons.

My 5k time back in 2010 was 29:34 so things haven’t changed that much.

According to the web site, the course had changed for 2015.

Here is the new course:

I hoped that it was still flat.

They also give out cool medals now as AG awards:

11709437_1140770242605111_6407506313609689112_n - Copy

Yup. I wanted one!

The race started at 8 am (an hour earlier than my last one). That meant that I had to get up at 5:30. (That is earlier than when I work.  The things we runners do!)

This being the opening weekend of the Saratoga Flat Track, believe it or not there was already traffic at 7 am. I was glad to have left early and found parking in a nearby lot.

I saw a lot of familiar faces.  There was over 1000 runners at this race. The weather was nice…in the 60s at the start but pretty humid.

IMG_6287

pre-race pose with my new skirt

Judith, a blogger and fellow SkirtSports ambassador recognized me by my skirt. We hung out and started the race together.

She reminded me that this new course would have 15 turns and not to expect a PR. And she was right.  Plus, it was not chip timed from the start.

photo by Stan Hudy

This cost me some time since it was very congested from the start with lots of kids in front of me. All of a sudden, Holly, from my Turkey Trot & Freihofer group caught up to me.  We talked for a few seconds and then she sped ahead.

I tried to keep up with her but I just don’t have her speed and she kept getting farther and farther ahead.

So I just did my thing.  I felt fine…no aches or pains…just not able to push myself to run fast.

I only walked at the the water stop which was around the halfway point…not because I had to but because I was very thirsty.

I continued to trudge along…until I saw the finish line.  I sped up because I was determined not to finish over 29 minutes.

According to my Garmin, I crossed at 28:33 but 28:41 gun time. I was happy with that.

IMG_6324

Done!

Besides all the turns, it was a pretty flat course. I would do this race again.

photo by Stan Hudy

I immediately found Holly after I finished. We chatted until the results went up.  She finished 6 out 24 and I finished 7th. There was some pretty speedy ladies in our age group.

s&s5k

No AG award this time (even if I PRed)

Splits:

mile 1- 8:59
mile 2 – 9:26
mile 3 – 9:25
.1 – 7:37

Since I wasn’t getting an award, I had a bagel and some chocolate milk and left.  I got to my car just as they were towing others in the same lot.  Oops, I guess I didn’t park in the right lot.  And If I had gotten an award, my car would have been towed.  (I guess things happen for a reason.)

IMG_6291

since I was in Saratoga, I should post a picture of some horses

I was not going up to the lake because we had to go to a graduation party later. So I took advantage of this opportunity to get some more miles in. I drove to Saratoga Spa Park for a change of scenery.  I’ll post pics tomorrow.

I’m linking this post up with Tara at Running n’ Reading for her Weekend Update!
I’m also linking this one up with Jessica at The Silvah Lining–she hosts a Race Recap linkup every Tuesday. Please head over and linkup a race recap you’ve written, new or old. And check out some of the other posts!

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races ?

runner-sig

14 thoughts on “Silks & Satins 5K Race Recap

  1. Nice job on the race. It is tough running in humidity, with lots of turns, too! I stayed overnight in Saratoga Springs last month on our way home from Ironman Mont Tremblant. It is a cool town. Feels Southern, in a way.

    Like

  2. Congrats on a great race in tough conditions. The humidity just sucks the life out of runners and I think you did great. By the way, very cute skirt too. You are always nicely coordinated for your races!

    Like

Leave a Reply

