Thinking Out Loud Thursdays: Racing, What Else?


Thursdays are for thinking… so I am linking up with Running With Spoons

I’ve been thinking and I’ve made my decision.

Next year, I will be racing the train.

rtt

I just don’t feel ready to tackle 8.4 miles on a hilly trail in the heat.  I don’t want to get injured since I have a  half marathon in October.

If I weren’t signed up for RnR Brooklyn, I would risk it. It sounds like fun and it’s a challenge that I would like to take sometime. Hopefully, it will fit into my schedule better next year,

Instead, I signed up for a 5k on Sunday.

c4k5k

in Chestertown, NY

Not as interesting as  Race the Train but certainly easier. At least, there will be lots of pretty views.

I have friend who lives nearby. I can sleep at her house the night before if I don’t want to sleep on our boat (which is 15 minutes away.)

After the race, I may be able to squeeze in more miles in this beautiful area.

Because I am crazy that way, I signed up for another 5k.

sa5k

Friday, August 7, 2015 6:30 pm in Schenectady’s Central Park

It’s on a Friday night so it won’t interfere with any weekend plans. I’m not crazy about an evening race especially in the summer. But we’ll see.

Here’s a surprise… I think that there will be no more racing in August.

I have a concert the weekend after…

We’re going on Saturday, August 15 to Xfinity Center in Mass.

and I have to work that morning. Unfortunately, I will miss 2 of my favorite races (that this year have been scheduled on the same day.)

10k

I would have chosen this one if I could run

I will be at my friend’s house on the Schroon River the weekend after that..

We will be playing tennis (though I hope to be able to run at some point.)

Happy Running! So what’s on your mind this Thursday?

runner-sig

8 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursdays: Racing, What Else?

  1. those outdoor pix in the Adirondacks are gorgeous! do you keep your boat in Lake George? so cool that you sleep on it. i love that you are in the know about all the races — i’m such a fail with doing races here in NYC. i wish they were cheaper (and didn’t sell out so quickly!). i don’t have any lined up for August. what’s on my mind today: it’s my friend’s birthday and he’s having a big party out in Santa Barbara that he really wants me there for, so i’m wishing i could be in California. :/

    Like

    • Yes, we keep our boat in Bolton Landing.There are so many in NYC. I wish I could do them but they start early in the am. Actually there’s one next Thursday night in Central Park.

      Like

  2. Race the Train looks like a lot of fun…and a big challenge! But I might be interested for next year too! Unfortunately this year I have to move on August 1st, and I’m not in trail shape. No way. Your pictures of the ADKS are gorgeous and makes me miss them. I need to get back up there one more time this summer.

    Like

  3. I see you came to your senses. With the forecast for the weekend I really don’t think you would have enjoyed 8.4. Atlhough you’ll probably end up running more than anyway with 2 races!

    Somehow running & Jimmy Buffet don’t seem to go together. 🙂

    Maybe it’s just the little break you need to come back feeling re-energized.

    Like

Leave a Reply

