Wednesday Word: Initiative


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is INITIATIVE

So what exactly is initiative?

An initiative is the start of something, with the hope that it will continue. It is also a personal quality. A person with initiative is motivated to do things. If you take the initiative, you’re willing to get things done on your own

My biggest initiative was to decide to start running.  At age 55, I joined No Boundaries and set out on my quest to run a 5K.

FRW - 2008

2008

But more importantly, when my friends stopped running, I continued. I ran by myself and signed up for race after race after race.

Fasig Tipton '10

2010

Three years later, I took the initiative to run a half marathon.  I told no one and signed up for one in Florida, where I knew no one.

Half in Naples, Florida

the best day ever

I have made friends from blogging and running races. But for the most part, I take the initiative in my running.

I sign up for races that I want to run whether or not I know anyone.  (Of course, it is more fun when you do.)

20140713-140835-50915896.jpg

alone at last summer’s half

Running is important to me so I take the initiative to do it on my own.

I have gotten on a plane by myself many times to run a race – California, Florida, Philly, etc. (If I had more time and more money, I would do it even more.)

race_697_photo_14838692

running solo in Fla last Jan.

If fact, my next half marathon is in Brooklyn. I don’t know anyone in Brooklyn.  I am taking a bus there, I rented an apt for the night before the race, and I will take the subway on race day…by myself. (Wish me luck!)

11351170_998501310161098_2841379829081422264_n

it should be worth it!

stock5

yup, got that 15k pr!

Happy Running! Are you someone who takes initiative when it comes to running?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Initiative

  1. Yes, we are so much alike! I will so get on a plane or take a road trip by myself to run a half. Is that weird? I don’t think so. I enjoy it! Thinking about doing a half in Atlanta in a few weeks. I’ll just up and go alone.

    Like

  2. I love your initiative here! I love traveling to races, but I have to limit it because my family doesn’t exactly love watching me run. But I am going to a runner’s retreat this month, and I’m only acquainted with one other individual going. It’s so outside my box, but I’m really looking forward to it!

    Like

  3. Geez, I typed out a response & it got eaten.

    I went to Austin by myself. Of course since I’d lived there so long I knew I’d be comfortable doing it.

    I went to the start of Montreal by myself. My husband met me at the finish line, but didn’t come to the start (I had to take the metro to it).

    It is convenient having him with me, though.

    I’ve traveled for other things without him. Sometimes being by yourself is a good thing.

    Like

  4. This is great! You’ve really taken the initiative on so many running related things. I don’t know that I would hop on a plane and go to a city I didn’t know to run a race without any of my friends. Perhaps that should go on my bucket list!

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  5. I love that you started at 55 🙂 and kept going!
    I would race more if I could, but I do keep mileage up running the same circles around my neighborhood 🙂

    Like

  6. You’re not going to get very far in life, or in running, without taking some initiative. Plus, look at all of the fun things you would have otherwise missed with out it! Your Brooklyn trip sounds very exciting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

