Wednesday Word: Focus


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is FOCUS

So what does “focus” mean?

  • to direct one’s attention or efforts
  • to concentrate

Sometimes, it is hard to stay focused on running. There are always excuses not to run.  It’s too hot or too cold or I’m too tired or I don’t have time or my blah blah blah hurts.

But I know that I will feel better after I run.  I know that my upcoming races will go better if I get out there and run.  These two things help me stay focused.

I don’t think I felt like running…

Then there are times when I do run and it doesn’t go well and races don’t end as planned. I could concentrate on the reasons why…an injury, the weather, the hills, etc

..but I should focus on the fact that I did run or I did finish the race and there will be more runs and races.

Mastodon Challenge 5K

not one of my better days

As runners, we need to look back on when we started running.  Remember when we couldn’t run a mile and when we couldn’t finish a 5k under X minutes.

We have all made progress and we need to focus on that.

frw12tu

this was one of my slowest 5K times but it was after not running for 5 months and I was so happy

All runners are different.  Some can run ultras. Some can run 6 minute miles.  Comparing yourself to others just leaves you frustrated.

We need to focus on our own running and our own individual goals.

We all start at the same time but each runner will finish at different times.

Happy Running! How do you stay focused?

runner-sig

8 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Focus

  1. Great blog post. It makes me think of the concept of ‘mindfulness’ that is so important in yoga. I’m also reminded of Matthew Syed’s comments in ‘Bounce’ about the importance of ‘purposeful practice’ and that if we’re not focused on what we’re doing then it loses its value.

    When I’m running I try to think about my end goal and if that seems to difficult then I try to spend a minute thinking about my cadence, then a minute on my arm technique, a minute on my foot positioning etc. This helps to break the run down into more manageable segments 🙂

    Like

  2. I still very vividly remember running a whole mile without stopping! I was amazed! Who knew where that would lead me?

    And then the other day I was driving to where the group was meeting for our run, which was actually along where we would be running. It’s rare that I drive the route I’ll run. It can definitely be eye opening!

    Like

  3. Great reminder that we should remember where we started from when we start getting down on ourselves with running. I think sometimes we can get so focused on a particular race or moment that we lose our overall perspective.

    Like

  4. I think you hit the nail on the head when you talked about it being “too hot” or “too cold” to run. I think those easy excuses are the most fundamental reason people can’t stay focused on their running. They let those little excuses take over their brains. You then mention how much better you feel after getting out there and running – such a good point!

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

