My Weekend: Running & Tennis


Several times each summer, I go up to my friend’s house on the Schroon River.

This is the first time this summer and the guests would be my tennis friends.

There was to be two days of playing tennis, eating, swimming, playing games and just having fun being together.

Since running has been my focus for the past few years, I decided to skip Saturday’s tennis and do my long run at home and then go up and join everyone else.

It wasn’t too warm or too humid.  Nothing hurt and still the run was tough.  I had zero energy and just dragged myself along, walking whenever I felt like I couldn’t run anymore (which was often).

IMG_6542

Luckily, I had my weekend to focus on and forget about how slow and pathetic my run was.

I arrived at Schroon River just as my friends were finishing up their tennis games. I watched for a while and then we went back to the house for lunch.

(There was a lot of eating going on this weekend!!)

IMG_6545

the Saturday group minus 2

After lunch I talked everyone into going for a walk (to burn off a little of our lunch…)

IMG_6579

The rest of the afternoon, we sat on the deck… some ladies knit, some read, some napped.  Then there was dinner and games…

You’d think that after the long run and the walk, I’d be tired but nope.  I didn’t sleep much at all that night.

I woke up bright and early Sunday morning.

IMG_6548

I don’t usually run 2 days in a row and definitely not after a long run but it was too nice out and the scenery too beautiful not to.

IMG_6559

IMG_6558

IMG_6557

So I got in a short run before we had breakfast and headed out to play tennis.

IMG_6550

My legs were tired but it was worth it.

Tennis was a lot of fun.  I always forget how much I enjoy it until weekends like this.

IMG_6569

the Sunday group

We played 3 sets, switching partners after each set and then drove home for lunch stopping on the way at a neat country store/nursery.

IMG_6571

After lunch, we sat by the water and played the same game as the night before (a food trivia game.) I had wanted to go to another even longer walk but no one seemed interested.

I missed being on the lake with my hubby and friends ..

11923226_10207133126557606_6510752352623179904_n

my boat is the left one on the right

but it certainly was an enjoyable weekend.  I am so lucky to have such wonderful friends.

Happy Running! How was your weekend?  Do anything exciting?

runner-sig

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Weekend: Running & Tennis

  1. Beautiful, beautiful lake pictures 🙂
    That chair is too funny 🙂
    Be proud you got your distance in! I am feeling like a sloth these days too, but hey, we are still moving 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

