Wednesday Word: Ambitious


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is AMBITIOUS

Someone who is ambitious is “eagerly desirous of achieving or obtaining success, power, wealth, a specific goal, etc.

Everyone is ambitious but about different things.

With my career, I have always been ambitious. I started out as a French major/Spanish minor. I got my Masters in Education and taught for 22 years at a private all girls school.

Then in my 40’s, I decided to change careers.  I got another Masters in Instructional Technology and completed my coursework for a PhD in the same area.

For 8 years, I was the Director of Technology for a Diocesan School District. I LOVED THAT JOB!!! I got to work with teachers and students and every day was something different.

Unfortunately when 1/2 of the 40 schools closed, I decided that I needed to prepare for retirement and I got a new job. It is the job I have now (at a law school) and I hope to work there until I am 70.

Yes, I said 70.  I am not the Suzy homemaker, stay at home type.

However, about earning money…not so ambitious.

I preferred to work at a job that I enjoyed rather than earn a lot of money. So for my first 2 jobs, I had a very low salary and no retirement.  As a result, even though I want to work now, I actually have to in order to be able to do the things I want.

As far as running, I am ambitious in so far as I make goals.

I make them for every race and every month and every year.

My goals could be more ambitious like run a marathon or an 8 minute mile but since I strive to be successful, I think I set realistic goals.

My most ambitious one was running a half marathon when the farthest I had raced was a 5k.

Half in Naples, Florida

Now, my ambition rests at getting out there and running several times a week, no matter what and signing up for races with a few each year being a half marathon. In other words, I will be persistent.

I have no ambitions on running a half marathon in all 50 states (too expensive) but I plan not to repeat any halfs.  There are so many that I don’t think I’ll run out of choices.

Now if only I could be ambitious about cleaning my house…

Happy Running! Are you ambitious?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Ambitious

    • Me too. I have a cleaning lady but since the kids moved out, I have her only once a month. And yes, my hubby thinks I am nuts but I clean up for the cleaning lady.

      Like

  1. Yea cleaning is not one of my ambitions either. I actually have similar goals/ambitions with running. Of course being older, I try to choose races wisely and make sure to respect my body so I can run for many years.

    Like

  2. I feel the same as you – I would rather be doing work I love than driving for the highest salary/best benefits I could get in my field. We are lucky to have jobs we enjoy.

    I’m always torn between running a half marathon again because I had such a good time at it or running a new one for a new experience!

    Like

Leave a Reply

