August Recap


Can’t believe the summer has gone by so quickly!!! And it’s already September…

So how did this past month go?

August Goals:

  • Run 3-4 times each week. Yes! 

I tried to vary my runs.  I get bored so I just pick different times and places for each one.

IMG_6420

IMG_6607

IMG_6466

  • Start longer runs on the weekend in preparation for Half marathon #15. Yes!

I have gotten up to 10 miles. None were exceptional but that’s the way they always are.  Many were add-ons after races too.

IMG_6445

IMG_6483

IMG_6542

  • Walk at work on days that I don’t run. No!!! Too busy at work.

I lost my walking buddy so I have to be motivated to do it on my own.  I AM NOT. This is a busy time of year at work and I just can’t tear myself away.  

  • Go to the gym at least once a week. No! Started to but that ended quickly…

I started going once a week but life just got in the way.

  • Run before work to avoid the heat. Yes! Often.

The summer heat has forced me into this.  My neighborhood is not exciting so I have searched out some others.

IMG_6498

IMG_6507

IMG_6516

  • Run a race or 2. Yes! Two 5ks and one 10K. Won 3rd, 2nd and 1st in my AG.

It’s no secret that I love to race.  It’s the only time I can get my legs to move.  Not ideal for half marathon training but I’m not one to follow traditional plans.

IMG_6392

IMG_6428

IMG_6639

  • Run at least 75 miles. Yes! 86 miles!!

Finally some decent monthly mileage…those long runs helped here.

aug15

  • Spend time with my mentee & sons. Yes!

I have slacked off since she is working a lot and has a boyfriend.  I hadn’t seen her since May so we were long over due. I plan to see them much more often in the fall.

IMG_6653

What else?

  • Spent lots of time on Lake George

Love our boat and our boating friends.  Lake George is the most beautiful lake in the country and the weekend weather has cooperated this summer.  Yay!

IMG_6366-0

IMG_6376

IMG_6658

  • Went to the track and actually won

For my former co-worker and I, this is an annual tradition.  We have gone to breakfast at the race track for over 30 years.  This year since I had the day off, we stayed for the races and I was incredibly lucky.

IMG_6402

  • Saw Jimmy Buffet in concert.

Friends turned me and the hubby on to Jimmy. We went to our first concert last year and vowed to repeat this awesome experience every year.  It’s even more fun with friends.

IMG_6489

  • Spent a weekend with my tennis friends on Schroon River

Another annual thing. About 10 of us gather at a house on the river to play tennis and have fun every summer.

IMG_6576


September Goals:

  • Run 3-4 times each week.
  • Continue the long runs on the weekend in preparation for Half marathon #15.
  • Run a 5k race under 29 minutes.
  • Run a 10K race under 60 minutes.
  • Take a yoga class.
  • Start doing planks again.
  • Pick a spring half marathon.
  • Run at least 90 miles.

Happy Running! How was your August?  Anything exciting planned for September?

runner-sig

17 thoughts on “August Recap

  1. You had a good month. I completed my quest to run 50 5ks before I turn 51. Came in first in my age group for my 51st race of the year and started doing long runs again.
    For September I need more long runs as I have a half-marathon in October. Not very exciting, but that’s the plan!
    Andy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Our 5k and 10k goals are very similar. I’m hoping to accomplish that soon, but after November, races are limited around my area and traveling is not an option right now. Hopefully I can get my mojo back for the next few months and meet those goals! Sounds like you had a great month in August. I hope September is the same for you!

    Like

  3. I’m hoping to have some exciting plans later this month, we’re still hashing it out.

    You’re way ahead of me in mileage! I’m pleased with how my running is going though, and just thankful that it’s going well. Sad I didn’t get to do some of the races I wanted to, but that’s life.

    We’ll have to make a yoga date if I every actually know what the heck is going on in my life.

    Like

      • They keep changing and it’s driving me nuts! I thought we had at least nailed down a loose plan & then last night discovered we’d miscommunicated. And still need to agree on something. Grrrr.

        And I found out my husband reads not only my blog, but the comments, too! I assume not all. At least he doesn’t read what I comment on other peoples’ blogs. 🙂

        Like

        • So you have to be careful what you say in your comments. Feel free to vent here.

          That’s why I’m glad that no one besides runners know that I blog. I hope to keep it that way.

          I don’t want to worry about what I complain about on my personal space.

          Like

          • Exactly. Except we kind of communicate through it, too. When I blogged on sparkpeople it was private and he didn’t read that (although occasionally I would tell him about something I’d written & then he would read it).

            I never thought that he’d read it every day. Just like I started taking photos of the animals on IG so he could see them when he travels (which isn’t a whole lot anymore).

            Plus the animals are cute. 🙂

            Like

  4. Signed up for a flat thanksgiving half! I ran it once before, and know for a fact I left an extra 2 minutes on the course due to chit chatting. I may have a PR in me if I can cut the chatting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

