Thinking Out Loud Thursdays – Shoes


Thursdays are for thinking… so I am linking up with Running With Spoons

So here’s what I’m thinking…

Why do I have so many Running Shoes.?????

It’s no secret that I have crappy feet.  No other part of my body hurts – not my calves, not my quads, not my hamstrings, not my knees, not my IT band, etc.  JUST MY FEET.

I have pain on the sides, on the bottom,… I get blisters.  My achilles gets tight.  I have bunions.

I’ll use my feet as an excuse to buy new running shoes often.

shoe2

Here are my latest pair – Nikes.  The verdict is still out but I think that will probably keep them for short races and short runs.

The reason for the purchase was the blisters and foot pain from Saturday’s race.

IMG_6630-1

These were Mizuno Inspires that I wore for my last half and that I got on sale.

So far, my most comfortable shoes to date are these Hokas.

IMG_6613

They are wide and have lots of cushion and so far, my feet don’t hurt when I run in them.

photo4

But look at the bottom after 100 miles or so.  The midsole is very worn as well.

Warning.. I will probably buy another pair for my long and recovery runs and half marathon. The Hokas are great for problem feet like mine.

(But they are clunky and I have a hard time getting any speed in them…hence the other pair of running shoes needed.)

These are my most recent purchases.  In the past year, I have run in many different pairs of Mizunos.

Run for the Roc - September

Mizuno Wave Rider 18s – I got these free as a tester

160336738.LA4n8qsE

Mizuno Wave Rider 17s – they were cheap and PURPLE

VCM Relay

those same Mizunos Inspires

Asbury Park Half Marathon

Mizuno Wave Ride 18s in a different color

Running down the Bump N Grind Trail in CA

a 3 yr old pair of Mizuno Inspires – didn’t want to get newer ones dirty on the trails

IMG_4270

Mizuno Wave Rider 17s (that I got free as a tester)

Then there are some others that I may have gotten on sale and are still in my closet from past years.

image

20140625-122436-44676505.jpg

Polar Cap 2015

So do I have a problem?

I need to have comfortable shoes. Shoes that look good are a plus. Shoes that match my outfits a even bigger perk.

So true!!

Happy Running! Do you have a lot of pairs of running shoes? What are you thinking about today??
runner-sig

 

 

5 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursdays – Shoes

  1. Even though I don’t have problem feet, shoes can be linked to my other problems. So right now I rotate between 1 pair of Brooks, 1 pair of Mizunos, 2 pairs of New Balance & 2 pairs of Newtons.

    I was really tempted by a sale on ON, which I’ve wanted to try, but I realized that right now I don’t need more.

    Let’s see: I have black, blue, white, 2 pink & purple. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

