Tuesdays on the Run: Fitness Trackers


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: Fitness/Running Trackers & Watches

I’ll categorize my use of trackers:

  • For Tracking Miles When Running

I use Daily Mile to keep track of my miles.

You can view them daily and

and weekly

and of course, monthly.

aug2014

You can link to FB or Twitter and comment other people’s posts but I do not.

  • For Tracking Distance When Running

I used to use Nike+ on my phone when I ran.

This app is easy to use and keeps track of distance, time and pace. But I only care about distance.

It also shows you a map of where you have run.

You can even add pictures.

even on the track

I recently deleted it and its the data because it took up a lot of space and switched to Runkeeper.

Runkeeper is easy to use, as well. It calls out your distance and pace. You can set walk/run intervals. You can also set goals and you can save a route. I only use it for distance and then delete the run. (So it doesn’t take up space on my phone.)

  • For Racing

I use my Garmin 205.

I know that it’s big and clunky but it tells me distance, time, pace…everything I need to know on one screen during a race.

I love it and I hope it never dies!!!

  • For Tracking my Steps Daily

I just joined the world of tracking my steps.   I bought a Fitbit Flex.

IMG_6796

The jury is still out on it since I’ve only used it for one day.

IMG_6797

work + 3.5 mile run + walk in the mall

Ideally I would have liked one that showed the steps without syncing to my phone but I didn’t want to spend the extra money until I decided if it was useful.

It can also track my sleep but that would be very depressing.

Right now, I am hoping that it will motivate me to be more active when not running.

Happy Running!  Do you use any trackers?   Which ones?

runner-sig

7 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Fitness Trackers

  1. My Vivoactive definitely motivates me to be more active . . . sometimes. The dogs & cats don’t really quite know what to make of the pacing. We’ll see how it goes in winter! Maybe I’ll do laps around the house, except the house isn’t really big.

    Like

  2. I use nike for my runs, but only because I don’t have a Garmin, which I really want. I used to have a fitbit flex and loved it, but I think all my sweating ruined the sensor. My boyfriend and I each had one for about a year and they both died the same death:/

    Like

Leave a Reply

