Wednesday Word: Cautious


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is CAUTIOUS

According to the dictionary, cautious is someone who is “careful to avoid potential problems or dangers.”

That is not one of my strong points.

I usually do and then think later.

I don’t do crazy things like jump out of an airplane (…yet.) but I have run in ice and snow.

winter5-384

I have traveled to Europe alone several times.

I have taken many race-cations on my own.

florida jan 2015 (116)

in West Palm Beach, FL

In fact, I have 2 upcoming races where I am staying in Air-BNB apartments by myself – one in Brooklyn and one in Manhattan.

And yes, I have raced with a stress fracture – actually twice.

Runners World 5K

why am I smiling??? it hurts!!

I have completed a race with a broken foot.

good thing I kept those critches

post Freihofer 5k

I have run a 5k after being sidelined after ankle surgery and not having run at all for 5 months.

Freihofer's 2012

definitely not cautious

Do I stretch for or after a run?? Of course not.  Do I use a foam roller or stick?  Nope.  And yes, at my age, I should be more cautious and think about preventing injuries…

But that’s not me.

I grew up with a cautious Jewish mother who worried about EVERYTHING. Maybe I am rebelling.

Happy Running! Are you “cautious?

runner-sig

 

8 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Cautious

  1. Love that, we never want to listen to Mom lol
    I am cautious about stretching, warming up, cooling down, I am so afraid if being in a boot again, but will I hike up a mountain alone…yes. I guess I am weird mix.

    Like

  2. My mom is cautious too, and although I am definitely more cautious than you, I like to think I am nowhere near as cautious as she is. My own little rebellion. 🙂

    I won’t be able to join you in Manhattan. 😦 Which kind of bums me out. Sometimes it’s really hard to compromise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

