Thinking Out Loud Thursday: September Recap


Thursdays are for thinking… so I am linking up with Running With Spoons

So here’s what I’m thinking…

Can’t believe that summer is over and it’s now Fall!

So how did this past month go?

September Goals:

  • Run 3-4 times each week. Yes.

I varied my runs and tried to run at different times of day and in different locations.

9715

at the lake

IMG_6748

in a new neighborhood before work

IMG_6672

in the park after work

IMG_6866

on the track

IMG_6914

on the rail trail

  • Continue the long runs on the weekend in preparation for Half marathon #15. YES.

I have gotten up to 12 miles. None were exceptional but that’s the way they always are.  Many were add-ons after races too.

IMG_6698

image

IMG_6840

  • Run a 5k race under 29 minutes. YES!

Just barely.  But I have not done any speed work training.

image

28:56

  • Run a 10K race under 60 minutes. NO but almost.
hf10ka

Helper’s Fund 10K -1:00:10 – too much walking but 2nd in my AG

  • Take a yoga class. NO!

I now have a training group run on Mondays, tennis on Tuesday, mentor a run on Wednesdays.  I guess I have to look for a Thursday class. But I did sign up for a 14 day Yoga Challenge – a video pose for each day but I only did the first 3 days.  

  • Start doing planks again. NO!

I may have done them a few times but not often enough to call it a YES. No excuses here… just plain lazy.

  • Pick a spring half marathon. NO!

Still deciding.  I’d like to do the Vermont City Relay again but it’s a lottery.  Also would LOVE to run the NYC Half but that’s a lottery too. I am considering a few at the end of April or beginning of May as backups.

  • Run at least 90 miles.  YES!

93 miles. Half marathon training has helped keep my mileage up. It’s the most monthly miles  I’ve run since last December when I was training for half # 11.

sept

What else?

  • Still lots of lake time.

We were lucky to have a warm September.

11958209_10206120773236783_6243567910802119341_o

IMG_6838

IMG_6848

IMG_6958

  • Joined the Troy Turkey Trot Training Challenge for the 2nd year.

Although I will only go on Mondays since I have races on Saturdays, I enjoy it.  And it’s good for me to push myself and run hills or do speed work.

  • Starting Mentoring the STEM running group (survivors of domestic violence training for a 5k)

The first week, I got there late due to traffic so I switched to another group in a closer location. They meet 3x a week but I will go on Wednesdays and run with one lady.

  • Lots of eating out in restaurants.

Not sure if that is a good thing. There’s been the after boating eat outs, my mil’s 90th birthday party and my monthly tennis get together.

eva

dinner

OCTOBER GOALS:

  • Run 3-4 times each week.
  • Continue the long runs on the weekend.
  • Run a 5k race under 29 minutes.
  • Run a 10K race under 60 minutes.
  • Finish a half marathon under 2:25:00
  • Do some yoga.
  • Start doing planks again.
  • Continue running with a group.
  • Walk 70,000 steps each week.
  • Pick a spring half marathon.
  • Run at least 85 miles.
  • Start a knitting project.

Happy Running! How was your September?  Anything interesting planned for October? What arer your thinking about today?

runner-sig

 

8 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursday: September Recap

  1. Great job on your September goals. I actually gave myself a goal to start back to Yoga and I did take a class this week. Hopefully I may go on Saturday morning too. I find it easy to do planks and sit ups in the evening if I leave a Yoga mat open in the room where we watch TV. Then I can’t avoid feeling guilty if I don’t do them!

    Like

  2. i can’t believe Sept is over, either! my goals for Oct include running a marathon next weekend, when you’re running the BK R&R! can’t wait to read about how that inaugural race goes. for a Spring half, consider the BK Half in May — it’s my fave.

    Like

    • Brooklyn is tough because I don’t live there and races start too early in the am. If only hotels were cheaper. I am staying in AirBNBs for my 2 NYC races so I’ll see how that goes.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Woot! 93 miles is great 🙂 I know you can hit all those October goals!
    I am hopeful October will hold some cool days and speedier runs, but who knows lol Currently I have a cut foot and had to take an expected rest day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

