Apple Run 5k Race Recap


applerun

I ran this race last year because 2 ladies whom I met at a previous race raved about it.

Apple Run - Octoberafter last year’s race

I enjoyed it so I signed up again.

Back to last year. This race came when I was running fast like finishing a 5k in 27:xx.  So I finished this race in 27:47 and won 1st in my age group.

IMG_3901

This year, it’s a different story.  I am slower. Maybe it’s my age or my training.  Who knows? I walk during my 5ks and my goal is to finish under 30 minutes.  If I am very lucky and it’s a flat course, I can finish under 29 minutes.

But as I commented recently, I am running.  I am not injured.  All is good.

On a weekend where there was good number of local races, I chose to drive 45 minutes to run this race.

IMG_6988

According to the website, it is a looped, flat course. Even though I ran it last year, I don’t remember much about the course.

Apparently we quickly switched from summer to fall in a few days.

It was chilly and windy. But at least we didn’t get the hurricane.

oct3weather

I was the crazy person who refuses to wear capris or tights before Thanksgiving.

IMG_6987

wearing my peekaboo skirt and top by SkirtSports

I picked up my race packet and was surprised that they had chips for your shoe. I almost forgot to get one.  It’s been awhile since I have had to use one.

IMG_7006

nice swag – 2 pairs of sunglasses on this cloudy day. too bad we got a cotton t-shirt

I bumped into the 2 older ladies that I see at most races that I run. (They are now in the 65-69 AG).  We chatted for awhile before the race. I also met some older gentlemen who were very talkative.

Finally I spotted Sue who had recommended this race. (Her Connecticut friend Ilsa couldn’t come.) We started together and she’s my competition (but she hasn’t been racing much.)

I should say that I was very cold.  My neck, my hands… my whole body.  I couldn’t wait to get started.  I shoudl have started closer to the front since this race was using chips but I was talking instead of paying attention.

Unfortunately, the first mile was running into the wind…I felt like I was barely moving forward at times.  It was a battle and I think the wind won.  My first mile which is my fastest was not great.

The rest of the race was run around the neighborhood with quite a few turns.

I was so cold that I didn’t want to stop at any of the water stops.

I just wanted to be done.

I actually didn’t feel the need to stop.  I was not tired or out of breath as usual.  I was just not giving it everything I had.

I think that I was nervous about getting hurt before my half marathon that is in one week.  I didn’t want to ruin what for 12 weeks I had trained for.

So heading to the finish line, we were so lucky to be running into that wind again! UGH!

When I saw the clock, I wasn’t surprised that I wasn’t close to a PR but I did want to finish under 28 minutes.

But I had nothing left and finished at 28:01.

Though it wasn’t the time that I had run this course last year (27:47) but it was faster than I’ve run a 5k in months.

I was happy and glad to get inside out of the cold.

Inside there was pizza, bagels, fruit, etc.  I ate and waited with my friends for the awards. I won 1st last year but if you look below, you’ll see that there was a very fast runner who is now in my age group and wasn’t last year- DARN!

applerun

I didn’t win any raffle prizes but I did win 2nd.

IMG_6989

Since they gave the awards starting with us “older” runners, I was able to head out to continue my running.

As always, I enjoyed my race and plan to run this one again next year.

IMG_7005

My splits:

mile 1 – 9:02
mile 2 – 9:09
mile 3 – 9:00
.14 – 7:29

 

8 miles was on the schedule.  So I stopped on the way home to add 5 more.

IMG_6991

still green – late color change in the NE

This time I decided to run on the Mohawk Towpath Byway.

I was still cold so I added a tee shirt over my long sleeved shirt.

IMG_6992

I was definitely tired.  This always happens when I run a race for my first few miles.

IMG_6990

But I just walked and ran and got the miles in.

IMG_6993

I wasn’t paying attention and ran too far.

IMG_6996

So I ended up with 6 more sloooow miles.

And my last long run is done!! YAY!

I’m linking this one up with Jessica at The Silvah Lining–she hosts a Race Recap linkup every Tuesday. Please head over and linkup a race recap you’ve written, new or old. And check out some of the other posts!

image

Happy Running!

runner-sig

11 thoughts on “Apple Run 5k Race Recap

  1. Congrats on a good race Darlene and another plaque from the Apple Run 5k! You did a great job getting in additional mileage after the race too. I was surprised to see that you got not only a bag but a water bottle too as race swag. That is unusual for a 5k race in my experience. We did get the hurricane rain, so I ended up doing 18 miles on the treadmill on Sunday. It was awful, but I was really happy to complete the mileage. NYC Marathon is right around the corner.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I totally get the paranoia that comes at the end of a training cycle…every little crack in the sidewalk becomes treacherous as I try to not injure myself before my goal race. Great job with this race and congrats on that 2nd place AG award!

    Like

  3. Congrats on the AG place 🙂 You ran a great race, very consistent! I like the plagues they give for the AG, a nice bonus 🙂
    I love your blue/black top! It usually has to hit freezing before I want my long pants lol Wind is tough it makes it feel so much cooler, just cuts through you. I had this past week with the stronger winds…I am not used to it!

    Like

  4. It was a really ugly day saturday. Congrats on your AG award. You may not be faster than last year but you’re still plenty fast.

    I think my only PR this entire year was my first half in May & that was just barely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

