Monday Running Update


spring 2015 monday
Last Week: 

  • Monday– I squeezed in a walk at work and then after work, went to my 3rd Troy Turkey Trot training group run. The hills killed me, as usual. But we varied the route this week to do 1 minute sprints so we only had to run the big hill twice. Afterwards, I met my BFF to walk around the mall and to catch up on our busy lives.

found ONE tree with color

IMG_3944

  • Tuesday – Just a normal work day, but my lunchtime walk to the park was nice. Then 1 1/2 hours of tennis after work followed by dinner out.
IMG_7028

waiting for some fall colors in the park

  • Wednesday – I squeezed in a walk at work.  I was planning to run with the STEM program (a Couch to 5k program for survivors of domestic violence.) after work but the client cancelled again 😦 .   Instead, I ran on my own (my last one before the race.
park 9-18-14

no more flowers in the park 😦

IMG_7043

  • Thursday – A busy work day but managed a walk around campus at lunch and then rushed home to pack. (The iffy weather is making me crazy.)

walk 2

  • Friday – I took the day off from work and headed by bus to NYC. I took the subway to Brooklyn Bridge and walked over it to Brooklyn, took bus & dropped off my bag at the apartment where I was staying and then took another subway to the expo. After the expo, I took a subway to Prospect Park before I called it a day.
image

lots of walking (carrying my bag) but it was worth it

image

at the expo (which was one of the worst I’ve attended)

IMG_7075

nice day for a run in the park

  • Saturday – Half Marathon #15 is in the books! Unfortunately an inaugural race has lots of snafus and so did this one. My race didn’t go as planned since around mile 9, my lower back started to hurt so much that I thought of quitting at mile 12 (but I didn’t.)  After the race, I spent a relaxing afternoon at Coney Island before heading home.
img_7098

2:25:47 – not expecting a PR but was on track to finish under 2:15 until mile 10.

IMG_7093

just beautiful

  • Sunday – Recovery day spent on Lake George, where else?
IMG_7102

our last day until next summer 😦

21 miles done with 3 runs and 4 rest days.

This Week:  

  • Monday-  3 mile run (with the Turkey Trot Training group)
  • Tuesday – tennis
  • Wednesday – 3 mile run before work, volunteer walk/run with STEM group
  • Thursday –  4 mile run after work
  • Friday – rest, mah jongg
  • Saturday – 10K race
  • Sunday rest
I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races ?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

    • Yup. So unpredictable. It’s a new pain each time. Part of me said, it’s not worth it, stick to short races and the other part wants a do over.

      Like

  1. Races are always unpredictable, so much can go on. I have been there and gotten so sick during an event…I was sad, but then a day later I wanted a do over just like you!
    Great job on finishing Darlene! I know that disappointment to be so close to a good finish time and lose it at the end, but you still did a great job.
    I am bummed seeing Wendy’s comment about her day too:(
    Did you do anything in particular for your foot? I have been icing it since Saturday and it feels better, but i can tell it isn’t quite right, I rested today. It was odd, felt just like a rock under my shoe. Was that yours?

    Like

  2. Great job getting through the race, even with some pain! I had some friends who ran the RnR Brooklyn as well, and they were a bit disappointed after running some of the other RnR series. But, all in all, they had a good time. I hope that your foot gets better soon!!!

    Like

  3. I hate your race didn’t turn out the way you wanted, but I’m super proud of you for finishing and I know you are too! I hope RnR producers get their act together there, I’ve been to the New Orleans one twice and honestly loved it! It was a great race and expo. Maybe they will take what they learned and implement it and next year will be a totally different race! It looks though like you took in some great sights before and after the race, though! I’m so jealous you’re that close to NYC.

    Take it easy this week and have a great 10k next weekend. We appreciate you linking up with us!

    Like

  4. The expo at Montreal was disappointing but Las Vegas is/was the best race expo I have ever been to! Huge! Mine had no expo at all, but I knew that.

    There are few things worse than running in pain. And so frustrating when it’s a new pain (been there, done that, could write the book).

    Thinking we can do better (and we can!) keeps us trying & moving & that’s a good thing.

    Like

  5. I’m sorry to hear you experienced back pain in your race. And, I would definitely expect a better expo from a big, popular series like RnR. Be proud that you are strong and pushed through to the finish. That is always a WIN, Darlene! I need to spend a day on the lake. I think it would help my attitude. LOL. Thanks for linking up with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

