Tuesdays on the Run: Balancing Running/Training with Work/Life/Family


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is Balancing Running/Training with Work/Life/Family

I struggle with this …a lot.

I work full-time.  I don’t have a big family but I do have a lot of friends.

How do you create a balance?

  • Be Flexible.

There have been times that I have wanted and preferred to run but things got in the way.  I’ve had to run before work

IMG_6498

or run during work 

IMG_6866

dreadmill

or sometimes not run at all.

12038287_10154200672714428_4679287681227959390_n

at a family event

IMG_6489

missed a race for this concert with my hubby

I’ve had to split my long runs into 2 parts or even 2 days.

IMG_6965

day 2 of the long run

  • Prioritize.

If you are training for a big race, then you may have to miss events with your family and/or friends. Of even take a day off from work. (I have.)

IMG_6853

there were many times that I wanted to be on our boat, but stayed home to run instead

20140722-121145-43905289.jpg

I did not play tennis with them. I ran instead.

  • Be organized.

Schedule every run. Think ahead about all events and appointments that you cannot miss.  If you have a busy life, runs are never last minute or on the fly.

Happy Running! How you create a balance between running and the rest of your life?

runner-sig

5 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Balancing Running/Training with Work/Life/Family

  1. Except for pretty much blowing off marathon training while we were in Europe (guilty as charged) I’m pretty good about getting my training done early, before everything else gets in the way. These destination races though, have cooked my goose. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  2. Great quotes and tips- I think scheduling your exercise is a great way to stay on track- I have to get better at this, but I think flexibility is key, so you can enjoy your runs and not think of them as a grind too.

    Like

  3. Thank you for all the great tips. It is always a challenge to fit all I need to do into my week, I need to often reflect on the things I want to do , and only do what is the most important. You will find the time to do what is important. Yes, you’ll have some things you just can do but figure out what is the most pressing and do that first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

