Great Pumpkin Challenge 10K Race Recap


gpcrunWEB1

October 17, 2015 – 9:30 am                               Saratoga Springs. NY

Running a 10K a week after a half marathon? Crazy?

I did only run Monday & Wednesday and rested Sunday, Tuesday, Thursday & Friday!!!. I was hoping that would make my legs happy and my back wouldn’t act up.

I ran this race last year for the first time and really enjoyed it (despite the rain.)

IMG_4053

last year

I know that they changed the 5k course again.  The 10k course continues from the 5k and there are several hills. (The 10k part looks basically the same as last year.)

The race takes place in Saratoga State Park which is a beautiful place to run especially in the fall.

map gpc

Lately we have been blessed with some beautiful weather…unseasonably warm. I wish it had stayed that way.  I love Indian Summer.

Today it really cooled down.  It was in the 40s and windy. I also looked like it may rain. Not knowing what the weather will do makes it hard to dress.  I’m not ready to dress for winter.  (I am wearing that skirt as long as I can stand it.)

As it turned out, it rained on my drive up and on my drive back but the sun was out for the race.

I left for the race early in case I had to park where I needed to get a shuttle to the start. The race was to start at 9:30 and I got there at 8:30 am.  I didn’t park in my usual lot but another one which was kinda a hike but not too bad.

This is a popular race. They were hoping for 2000 runners. (I think they were about 1500.) I knew a few folks who were planning to run it but I didn’t know if I would see them.

I hung out for a while in the pavilion.  There were real bathrooms and a fireplace.

IMG_7140
Finally it was time for the race to start. It was cold but I decided to leave my jacket and pants at the bag check.  It was still dry outside and I was hoping that it would stay that way.

On the way to the start, I bumped into Holly from my Turkey Trot training group.  She was running the 5K. I also lined up with with some other runners in my AG (speedier than me) whom I know.

I started not too far back because I didn’t know if it were chip timed (and it was but not for awards.)

It was very crowded at first. Since I was near the front, everyone was passing me by.  I was trying to run fast but my legs just wouldn’t go.

They changed the 5k so that it was pretty flat.  I didn’t even have to walk.

IMG_7149

I love running in this park.  It is so pretty especially in the Fall.

The 5k ended and my time was 28:xx.  Of course, that exhausted me and we hadn’t hit the hills yet.

Most the next 5k were hills.  I tried to run up them but was pretty unsuccessful.  So I walked many times during the second half of the race.  I also walked through the water stop around mile 4 to take a GU.

That gave me some more energy and got me to the end.

I was determined cross under 1 hour. And I did – 59:19 (chip time).

Yes, slower than last year but faster than my last two 10ks so I’ll take it.

Best of all – no blisters, no foot pain, no new injuries (just tired legs)

There was a long line to get food but I waited on it for bagels, lots of homemade goodies and hot chocolate.

gpc10k

Though I was faster last year, this year, I won an AG award.

IMG_7145

3rd

Holly and some older guys won 1st place awards – Hooray for us oldies.

IMG_7141
Race Splits:

mile 1 – 9:06
mile 2 – 9:37
mile 3 – 9:13
mile 4 – 10:04 (started to walk)
mile 5 – 10:36 (walked even more)
mile 6 – 9:53 (just a little bit of walking)
.2 – 8:40

As I walked back to my car, it seemed to be getting colder and winder.  I’m not ready for winter, yet!

IMG_7152

I love this race and will be back next year.  Maybe do the 5k!

I’m linking this one up with Jessica at The Silvah Lining–she hosts a Race Recap linkup every Tuesday. Please head over and linkup a race recap you’ve written, new or old. And check out some of the other posts!

Happy Running! Did you race this past weekend?  Is it getting colder where you live?
runner-sig

 

17 thoughts on “Great Pumpkin Challenge 10K Race Recap

  1. I wore a long sleeve tech tee, a windbreaker & I couldn’t get out til after 1 pm & I kept that windbreaker on the whole time!

    Heck, I didn’t run a 10k this week (well, almost, it was 6 miles), I haven’t raced anywhere near as much as you, and I took the whole week off of running! Without recovery time I think you have to expect slower times.

    Of course I’d be very happy with your “slow” times. And winning an AG award in a larger race proves you’re not slow. Congrats!

    Like

  2. I thought about running this race, but it didn’t fit in my training schedule (had to run 12 miles today). Reading your recap makes me wish it had! I did run most of the same route on my run today. The park really is gorgeous right now.

    Big congrats on your AG award!

    Like

Leave a Reply

