Monday Running Update


spring 2015 monday
Last Week: 

  • Monday– I squeezed in a walk at work and then after work, went to my 4th Troy Turkey Trot training group run. The hills killed me, as usual. But we varied the route this week to do 1 minute sprints so we only had to run the big hill twice.
image

my hubby went boating but I was working…this was the best view that I could find

IMG_4023

  • Tuesday – Just a normal work day, but my lunchtime walk was postponed by rain until after work when the sun came out. Then I rushed to play 1 1/2 hours of tennis followed by dinner out.

image

  • Wednesday – I squeezed in a run at work just in case my run with the STEM program (a Couch to 5k program for survivors of domestic violence.) after work was cancelled again.  But it wasn’t and I got run/walk with Kelly for the first time. She was great and so fast for a beginner.
IMG_7123

my reward

IMG_7124

in Schuyler Flatts Park, Watervliet

  • Thursday – Decided to take an unplanned rest day. Had a busy work day but still got in a late walk to the park at lunch and then had a hair appointment after work.

IMG_7131

  • Friday – Rest day 2. Another work day with a lunchtime walk and evening mah jongg games.

IMG_7126

  • Saturday – Ran a COLD 10K race in Saratoga State Park – slower than last year but won an Age Group award.

59:19 – 3rd place AG sward

  • Sunday – Spectated at an even colder Duathlon (for the 4th time.) I even saw my first snow flakes.
IMG_7177

AJH won her age group too!

While AJH was riding 16 miles for the bike portion of the race, I ran the 2 mile section in my winter running gear: wool hat, turtleneck, jacket, capris, compression socks and GLOVES!

IMG_7176

15 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days.

This Week:  (6 weeks until Half Marathon)

  • Monday-  3 mile run (with the Turkey Trot Training group), mall walk with my BFF
  • Tuesday – tennis
  • Wednesday – 2 mile run before or during work, 2 mile volunteer walk/run with STEM group4 mile run after work with Judy
  • Thursday –  4 mile run after work with Judy, 4 mile run after work
  • Friday – rest, mah jongg chez moi
  • Saturday – early 7 mile run, Ellms family face with my mentee and sons, college reunion and walk across the Walkway Bridge and on the bike path
  • Sunday – college reunion and walk across the Walkway Bridge and on the bike path, early 7 mile run, Ellms family farm with my mentee and sons
I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races ?

runner-sig

22 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. I don’t think it was actually snow . . . looked more like mini hail to me. Whatever; it’s still too early! I’m thinking I’m going to have to drag out that bright green jacket for this morning’s run because I can’t do it in the afternoon when it warms up.

    How was Schulyer Flats? Not too far from me & always kind of wanted to go there but it seems really isolated.

    Like

  2. Congrats on your 3rd place AG award. Always nice to get. Your training looks very consistent which I think is a good way to train and avoid injury.
    Not looking forward to this cold weather. We had our first freeze last night here in the Boston area!

    Like

  3. Nice job on the award!! It sure was cold in NY and PA this weekend. We got a teeny bit of snow where I’m from in NY, and I happened to drive through a few blizzards on the way back from PA. Winter is coming, but I think we have a few weeks of fall left!

    Like

  4. You remind me, I need of a haircut! Those are pretty fall colors in your pictures. It’s not happening around here yet. I hope fall sticks around a while longer. We haven’t consumed enough pumpkin products. I’m not ready for cranberry yet. Congratulations on the AG award. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  5. i think i’m going to do the Troy Turkey Trot with the (new) boyfriend this year, actually, as he really wants to do it! the last time i signed up i didn’t show b/c it was so cold, haha. whoops. i’m also planning to do the Hairy Gorilla Half at Thatcher Mntn this wknd, so long as it doesn’t rain!

    Like

  6. Snow already! Oh goodness. Temps were crispy at 40 this morning but no real signs of turning leaves yet. It takes us a while. Honestly, it would be fine with me if Fall stuck around for several months like this. Boy I can only imagine how pretty the route was on your 10k! Congratulations on the AG award too. Appreciate you linking up with us this week! Hoping you have another great week! What’s next on the schedule for you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

