Spectating at a Duathlon


duathlon15
This was my fourth year watching AJH competing in this Duathlon.

2012

The first year, it was raining and I had a stress fracture in my foot. It was not so much fun.

2013 – she’s even wearing shorts

But the second year, it was much more enjoyable. It took place near Krause’s restaurant on the Mohawk Towpath Byway and I was able to get in a run during the bike portion of the race.

However, last year, they changed the location of the race.

It started at Riverview Orchards.  It is a very scenic area and a nice place to run.

IMG_4060

2014

However, it was so COLD, windy and nasty that I decided to forego the run and just watch.

This year, it was COLD again! But at least the sun peaked out for awhile here and there (before it started to snow.)

image

photobombed by a dog

The runners started with a 2 mile run and then back to the transition area.

image

As I mentioned…it was COLD.  I took advantage of the race being at the orchard and stayed inside the store while Andrea was racing.

image

I had some hot cider and watched them make cider donuts.

image

Of course, I ate one!

I decided to brave the cold and get in a run during the 17 mile bike portion of the race. (I broke my rule and dressed in winter running gear – hat, coat, capris, compression socks and even gloves.)

image

I began at the race start and ran the 2 mile portion of the race…though very slow and with many stops. (It was supposed to be my rest day after the 10k race the day before.)

image

view heading to the turn around)

It was very pretty.

image

this was someone’s house! with their own apple orchard!

When I was done, I waited for Andrea to be finished with the bike portion.

The bike route was very hilly and the riders had to finish uphill.  I was so impressed with how AJH did.

image

The race ended with the same running route as it started. So after that hilly ride, they had to run 2 miles again!!

image

But Andrea finished strong.

When she was done, we waited inside (where it was warm) for the results to be tallied.

image

She won 1st in her age group! Yay, Andrea!

It was a fun experience. Everyone looked like they enjoyed the race. It’s especially nice to cheer on a friend.

IMG_5785

maybe the next time we will be running the VCM relay together in May. (I am running a half marathon in Feb, the day of our usual race meet up).

Happy Running! Do you spectate at races? 

runner-sig

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Spectating at a Duathlon

Leave a Reply

