A Walking, Running & Pumpkin Picking Weekend


The weekend started with an hour and half drive to Poughkeepsie to meet my college BFF.

image

It was cloudy and chilly but the foliage was so pretty that we didn’t mind.

image

We started by walking over the Walkway Bridge.  It is the longest pedestrian bridge in the world.

image

It goes over the Hudson River and is about 1.5 miles long.

image

image

After we walked over the bridge, we continued on the Hudson Valley Rail Trail.

image

It went for about 4 miles and also was very scenic.

image

image

We turned around and on the way back, we veered of the trail to have lunch in the town of Highland.

image

Soup, salad and the dessert above.

The we continued back on the trail and over the bridge again.

image

The colors were even prettier on the way back.

image

11.5 miles walked for the day!!!

I really got lucky on Sunday.

I was supposed to take my mentee Amanda and her two sons to Ellms Family Farm for the day.

I wanted to run as well.

I got up early and it was raining. Then Amanda got called into work so I was able to wait to do my run.

I have been on our new rail trail but never gone to the end. I decided that today was the day.

image

we are losing our leaves in the NE

image

love this old bridge

image

image

image

image

under 2 more bridges

image

still some nice colors here

I think I’ve found a new favorite place to run close to home. 7 miles done!

As soon as I finished, it started to rain again.

Then I found out that Amanda had to work the whole day.

I decided to take one of her sons, the 8 year old, to the farm.

image

image

getting ready to do the maze

image

image

image

image

We did have cider donuts & pick pumpkins (just forgot to take pics)

We were there for about 4 hours – exhausting but so much fun!

Happy Running! How was your weekend?

runner-sig

6 thoughts on “A Walking, Running & Pumpkin Picking Weekend

Leave a Reply

