Thinking Out Loud Thursday: So much to do & so little time


thinking out loud

So I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

Here’s what I’m thinking today…

I am going to NYC early tomorrow and coming home late Saturday.

The purpose of this trip to NYC is to run the NYRR Dash to the Finish Line 5K on Saturday morning.

8:30 am Oct 31, 2015

Originally, I thought that I had so much time….

I was wondering what I was going to do all day Friday and then all day Saturday… by myself.

Now I have so many things planned that there isn’t enough time…

FRIDAY:

  • Check my bag in Macy’s. (~9:30 am)

If you ever go to NYC, there is a free bag check in the basement at 34th & Broadway. Of course, I’ll want to leave Macy’s right away and not be tempted to shop.

  • Italian Food Tour of NYC (12- 2 pm)

I found a great Groupon for this…

Immerse yourself in the food and culture of one of New York’s most colorful neighborhoods, Little Italy, and sample some of the best Italian food in NYC. Hear the stories behind the historic Italian landmarks that defined the immigrant experience at the turn of the 20th Century. Every delicatessen, bakery and pizza shop on The Italian Food Tour Of New York is over 100 years old! (All food is included, 4 course lunch on the go.)

ITINERARY:

Parisi Bakery  Frank Sinatra considered himself addicted to their prosciutto infused bread, as have many others over the past 103 years since this bakery opened!

Alleva Dairy The oldest cheese shop in America, this still family-owned and operated shop whips up 4,000 pounds a week of the freshest mozzarella and ricotta you’ll ever taste!

Lombardi’s Pizza America’s oldest pizzeria! Their 106 year old coal oven still impresses locals, tourists, and international foodies alike

Ferrara Bakery Lucky for you, your tour guide has line jumping privileges. The line to this bakery has been one of the longest in New York since 1892!

Movie Locations Being Little Italy you’ll recognize locations from films like The Godfather, Donnie Brasco, Mean Streets, Serpico, and even Sex and the City!

Curb Exchange The bootlegging depot of New York during the Prohibition era. See where all the deals went down, and find out what happened when they fell through…

Petrosino Square The public space named after New York’s first Italian detective, who took on the five points gangs in a fight to the death!

Old St. Patrick’s Cathedra The first Catholic Church in New York, this 200 year-old has hosted many high profile film productions, weddings, and memorial services. Take a look inside, you’ll be wowed!

  • Get to the NYC Marathon pavilion (at some point, maybe??)

The brand-new TCS New York City Marathon Pavilion will be open to runners, race supporters, and the public. It’ll serve as an entertainment hub and welcome center for this incredible race. The state-of-the-art space, located at Tavern on the Green, features a beautiful glass structure with a bar and café catered by the wonderful chefs of the Tavern on the Green. It also includes official TCS New York City Marathon merchandise and lots of running-related programming.

9:00–11:00 a.m. Kathrine Switzer Book Signing Meet the author and purchase Marathon Woman in the book signing area.

2:00 p.m. Movie Trailer Screening: Tracktown Including a special appearance by filmmaker and famed runner Alexi Pappas.

  • Go to the EXPO to get my race packet.

It’s at the Javits Center and it’s for the NYC Marathon, as well.  I need to hold back on the buying but we’ll see what I find that I want and don’t need.

  • Pick up my bag at Macy’s
  • Check into my room. (6 pm)

It’s on 38th & 9th.  I reserved it through AirBnB.  Since it went so well when I ran the RNR Brooklyn Half, I am not nervous about this one.

apt

room

  • Pre-race Dinner nearby

SATURDAY:

  • Get to the race start. (7:30 am)

It starts at the UN and there will be probably around 15,000 runners.  Unfortunately, bag check is at the end (Central Park) so I guess I will not be checking anything.

  • The RACE (8:30 am)

I am very excited about it.  Hopefully it will not be raining or cold.  I am asking for sunshine.

  • Brunch at Tavern on the Green (10:15 am)

I’ve eaten here years ago but then the restaurant closed.  Now it’s open and I made reservations. So I will be eating in a fancy restaurant in my sweaty running clothes… How cool is that?

  • Run in Central Park

I plan to do at least 5 miles (along side all the marathoners doing their last pre-race run.) It will be a slow run since I will have just had a big meal but I looking forward to seeing the fall foliage in the park.

???????????????????????????????

a photo that I took 2 years ago when I was there on this day

  • Hit the Pavilion?
  • Check out of my room (3 pm)
  • Have lunch/dinner
  • Walk the High Line or visit the Expo again 
12118644_10154215210414428_1627727888156201846_n

picture from October when I was on the High lIne

  • Catch my bus (6:15 pm)

The bus leaves from the beginning of the High Line and across the street from the Expo.  Very convenient for last minute strolling or shopping.

Wow…I am going to be busy.  Remember this is NYC…things are not close by.  I’ll be a pro at riding the subway in Manhattan by the end of my visit.

Of course, I would make room for any blogger meetups so you are in NYC tomorrow or Saturday, please let me know!

Now it’s just thinking about what to wear.

Weather Forecast:

weather 1031

I will probably wear this shirt (since it is Halloween)

IMG_7145

and these capris

I can wear throw away stuff before the race but the problem will be afterwards if I am cold and have nothing to wear…

Race Goals:

Nada. Nothing. Just have fun!!

Happy Running! What are you thinking about today?

runner-sig

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursday: So much to do & so little time

  1. I am so green with envy . . . I did a food tour in the Village when we first moved here (hubby had a conference) and it was fabulous. There’s actually not a lot of walking on that kind of tour. I look for walking food tours everywhere we go! We did one in Saratoga & one in Seattle. The one in the Village I did on my own, and there were some gotchas with the Subways and I almost didn’t make it.

    I would think that a running skirt would be fine? Sounds like it’s going to be pretty warm actually.

    Have fun!

    Like

    • Yes looking forward to my food tour. I would wear a skirt but since I’ll wearing it before & after, I think the capris will work better.

      Like

  2. I didn’t know they had reopened Tavern on the Green. I’ve ate there probably 10+ years ago. Loved it. I hope you have a fabulous race and get some pretty fall pics of Central Park to share.

    Like

Leave a Reply

