October Recap & Runfessions


OCTOBER GOALS:

  • Run 3-4 times each week. YES!

I continue to run 3-4 miles during the week trying to vary my running courses.

IMG_7043

IMG_6983

IMG_7184

near work

IMG_7280

on the new rail trail

  • Continue the long runs on the weekend. YES!

But not as long since I was tapering and then just beginning to train for next one.

IMG_7004

10/3 – 9.2 miles

IMG_7149

10/17 – 6.2 miles (10K race)

image

10/25 – 7 miles

IMG_7355

109/31 – 5 miles post 5K race

  • Run a 5k race under 29 minutes. YES 

It wasn’t a PR but it was faster than my last few 5ks.  

IMG_7002

28:01

I just ran this one for fun and it was.

28:59 (28:37 – Garmin time)

  • Run a 10K race under 60 minutes. YES!
IMG_7151

59:19 – 3rd in AG

  • Finish a half marathon under 2:25:00 NOPE! But close.
img_7098

2:25:47 – stupid lower back pain

  • Do some yoga. NO! 😦
  • Start doing planks again. Not really. 😦
  • Continue running with a group. YES!
IMG_4200

every Monday (I skip the Saturday runs though)

  • Walk 70,000 steps each week. YES!
image

Oct 10 – new record high

My FitBit has motivated me to take the stairs at work and walk at lunch most days.

IMG_6975

image

IMG_7131

park is beautiful this time of year

  • Pick a spring half marathon. NO!

But I did register for another winter one (EAU Palm Beach on Dec 6).

I registered for NYC on March 20 but I don’t know if I’ll get in.  

I will also try to get into Brooklyn on May 14 (registration doesn’t open until Jan) as well as VCM (if AJH wants to run the relay again.)

  • Run at least 85 miles. Nope! But close.

oct15

  • Start a knitting project. Nope not yet.

What else?

  • Went to NYC with my tennis friends.

We walked the High Line and saw the Carole King musical Beautiful.

IMG_7025

  • Had a nice time touring Brooklyn before and after my race.

I walked over the Brooklyn Bridge and visited Prospect Park on Saturday.

image

After the race, I spent the afternoon on Coney Island.

image

  • Volunteered with the STEM program again.

I run with Kelly after work on Wednesdays.  She is going to do great in her first 5K.

IMG_7124

  • Spectated at a Duathlon.

I was my 4th time watching AJH compete in this race and I enjoyed it.  If it were warmer, I would have enjoyed it even more 🙂

IMG_7177

  • Walked over the Walkway Bridge with my college BFF.

After meeting at the Clark Institute in September, we decided to get together more often.  Unfortunately, my other college friend fell and broke her ribs & collar bone biking and couldn’t come. I’m glad we chose to walk instead of bike.  The day turned out great.

IMG_7227

  • Saw my Mentee’s son.

We went to Ellms Family Farm which has become an annual fall tradition for us. (Unfortunately his mom had to work.)

IMG_7263

  • Ran a race in NYC…finally!

Dash to the Finish 5k

It started at the UN and 3.1 miles later, I crossed the NYC Marathon finish line. What a great experience.

12188943_10154267413724428_6423397630982782753_n

Took a Food Tour of Little Italy the day before the race.

And got to run around Central Park on a beautiful fall day after the race.

november

November Goals:

  • Run 3-4 times each week.
  • Continue long runs on the weekend.
  • Run a 5k race under 29 minutes.
  • Run a 10K race under 60 minutes.
  • Run a 15K race under 1:35.
  • Start going to the gym once a week.
  • Do those planks!
  • Continue running with a group.
  • Walk 70,000 steps each week.
  • Run at least 80 miles.
This month I’m linking up again with Marcia’s Healthy Slice for Runfessions.
I think I may have to make these yearly Runfessions rather monthly because they repeat.
I runfess..,.
I am still in weight la la land.  I have no idea how much I weigh since my scale STILL has no battery.
I runfess…
I have not gone to the gym or signed up for a yoga class.
I want to but things get in the way (mostly running.)
I runfess…
I have only run once with my STEM client (victim of Domestic violence.)  She has cancelled and I haven’t been able to reschedule .  Each time, I am secretly happy because that means I can run on my own nearby.
I hope it works out for the next few Wednesdays because she is very sweet and a good runner.
I runfess…
On my training group runs, I walk up the hills and I do not run fast on the speed drills.
I am either too tired after work or did my long run the day before.  I better get it together or my Turkey Trot 10k will suck.
I runfess…
I love taking pictures when I run.  This means that I stop and walk … A LOT.  I should leave my phone home but fall is so pretty.
I runfess…
My fitbit excitement is wearing off already (after one month.)
I am sitting more at work and now it doesn’t bother me when I don’t hit 10,000 steps.
I runfess…
I don’t drink anything caffeinated. I drink herbal tea in the morning.  But I think I use sweets for energy.
Yup, cider donuts, pumpkin poptarts, etc …  If I am tired, I eat.
I runfess..
I jump into things without thinking them through.
So I signed up for a half marathon on Dec 6 in Florida.  It’s on a Sunday and I arrive on Friday.  Though I have friends to stay with on Friday & on Sunday, it’s going to be inconvenient.  The Race is in West Palm, one lives 1/2 hour north and one lives 1/2 hour south.  Last time, I arrived the day before the race and stayed for a few days after.  It worked out well but this time, I was afraid of transportation snafus.

Happy Running! How was your October?  Anything interesting planned for November? Do you have something to Runfess?

runner-sig

 

3 thoughts on “October Recap & Runfessions

  1. You had a busy October! I don’t blame you one bit for stopping to take pics. I’ve done my share of this as well. The autumn beauty is fleeting. Mmmmm cider donuts. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  2. You were so close on the half! I hate when it is close you can taste it! I have not been doing as much core work as I should either, but it hard to fit it all in. You don;t need to worry about the scale battery, you look great! I am running a race on Dec. 6th too 🙂 It is a few hours from home though. I hope all your travel is smooth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

