Tuesdays on the Run: Planning for a Racecation or Destination Race


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is Planning for a Racecation or Destination Race

image

Well, I do do this several times a year so here are my tips:

  • Make a list of what you need to bring.

Then you can cross things off as you pack them. Don’t forget race fuel.

  • Start packing early

I start a few weeks in advance.  I use a bed in my spare bedroom.  Sometimes, I use an extra laundry basket.  And everything I think of something to bring, I put in the pile.  You can’t do it all because as we know, the weather forecasts will change.

  • Be prepared for last minute changes in weather.

Bring a shirt for a warmer forecast and one for a cooler one. Bring a rain poncho & an umbrella.  Of course, bring throw away clothes.

  • Bring your race morning breakfast.

I never count on that a friend or hotel will have what I usually eat.  I bring packets of oatmeal and tea.  (Don’t forget a cup, bowl & spoon.)

  • Print important information for packet pickup & the race start.

I have everything on my iPhone but you never know…when it won’t work or the battery dies.

  • If you are flying, pack race essentials in your carry-on.

What if your luggage gets lost….

  • Plan to arrive at least 2 days before the race.

Of course, you’ll have time to relax. And if you car breaks down or your flight is cancelled, you won’t miss your race. (Yes, it happened to me last March and June.) Plus you can do some sightseeing. Visiting a new place is one of the perks of a destination race!!

Happy Running! Any other tips for a destination race?

runner-sig

10 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Planning for a Racecation or Destination Race

  1. Great tips Darlene! Cancelled flights seem to happen more often than not here in Chicago when I travel in winter. That said, I’ve pressed my luck and arrived the day before too many times. Not in winter though.

    Like

  2. Two days before the race is a GREAT tip! I think that’s something I need to consider this year; I’m cutting things close on a few races. Now you have me thinking… lol

    Like

  3. Yes, I like having my breakfast with me too. I started adding a garbage bag to my list when I got completely soaked in my new rain shell. (I returned that thing!) If you don’t use it, it’s great for dirty and/or sweat soaked clothes on the trip home.

    Like

    • Yes, I do usually pack a trash bag. Especially if rain is in the forecast. I also have a $1 rain poncho (that I haven’t had to use yet.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

