Tuesdays on the Run: Post Race Celebrations


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is Post Race Celebrations

I really haven’t run any BIG BIG races so I haven’t participated in the infamous post race events.

But one of the important things that I consider when I review a race is its post-race food.

We pay enough to race.  There should be a decent selection of post race refreshments.

Here’s what I like to see after a race:

  • Chocolate Milk

20140412-163910.jpg

IMG_5899

(Walkway Half)

  • Pizza

image

  • Soup in the winter
IMG_4904

HMRRC Winter Series

  • Ice cream in the summer
IMG_6425

(Schenectady ARC Challenge)

Sean's Run with Mary

(Sean’s Run)

  • Carbs (bagels & home made baked goods)
20140412-163900.jpg

Bacon Hill Bonanza)

IMG_6935

(Helper’s Fund 5k/10k)

  • Fruit
chocolate fountain with pretzels and fruit for dipping

preferably with a chocolate fountain (Mother’s Day bRUNch)

My most recent post-race nourishment:

IMG_7412

just perfect… there were also bagels, yogurt, fruit, etc. (Stockadeathon)

One of favorites is this barbecue:

IMG_3296

(Camp Chingachgook Challenge)

However if the post-race food is lacking, I just go out with a friend…

After all, I have put back those calories that I burned!!

Happy Running!  Are post-race refreshments important to you?

runner-sig

 

6 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Post Race Celebrations

  1. Racing (or actually all running) suppresses my appetite. Just the thought of food after a race makes my stomach turn. And lots help me if I can smell it!

    Like

  2. I love love love chocolate milk after a race! I also crave carbs too I don’t know why races don’t seem to have as much carbs like the bagels after races. While I would say Pizza isn’t a favorite of mine after a race, after the Blues when it was running in the 20’s last year, it was the very best!!!

    Like

  3. I’m with Rebecca; if it’s a long race, most of the time I’m not hungry for hours (not always, but at least 75% of the time). I eventually I eat because I know I need to, and then suddenly I’m hungry.

    Ice cream sundaes, preferably brownie ice cream sundaes, are one of my very favorite post race treats. Why aren’t there more ice cream bars after a race?

    I suppose it would be a nightmare trying to keep the ice cream from melting, but it sure sounds good, doesn’t it? Some TCBY sort of thing right at the finish line?

    Like

  4. I love True Moo chocolate milk (in your pic). I buy at least a gallon every week. It has less sugar than other brands. They also have a vanilla flavor that’s very good. Also, I’m one of those people who can eat immediately after finishing a race. “Where’s the food table?”

    Like

Leave a Reply

