Monday Running Update


spring 2015 monday
Last Week: 

  • Monday– Today was my last 3 mile run with my Turkey Trot Challenge Group. Neither of coaches showed up so we were on our own.  Instead of intervals, we ran a SPEEDY 3.3 miles (Boy,  those ladies are fast I struggled big time to keep up.)
IMG_4356

3.3 fast miles – race pace for me (not the others)

  • Tuesday – Just a normal work day with a lunchtime walk and played 1 1/2 hours of tennis followed by dinner out.
  • Wednesday I had the day off from work. I used it to cook for the holiday and squeezed in a yoga class in the middle.
IMG_7426

2nd yoga class this month! WooHoo!

  • Thursday – First I ran a 10K race and then for fun I did the 5k after with friends.  I spent the rest of the day cooking since I was bringing Thanksgiving dinner over to my MIL’s that evening.

59:33 – not one of my best

31:28 – one of my slowest

this was happening in my house & I ran 9.3 miles and had to cook

and squash leek soup

gotta have pumpkin pie for dessert

  •  Friday – Another day off and I did NOT go shopping.  I rested from my 9.3 miles the day before (except for a quite 1 mile cuz it was 65 degrees outside) and made turkey soup (what else?)  I did go out in the evening to play mah jongg .
  • Saturday – I did debate going to a 5K race but decided against it and to rest another day. Besides it was cold and rainy. I did decorate the house for the holidays so it wasn’t so restful. In the evening, I went to the movies with a friend.
20131202-181918.jpg

snowmen everywhere

  • Sunday – Today I did my last long run. I ran 2 miles and then Judy & I ran 6 miles together on the rail trail. And in the evening, I took Amanda (my mentee) and her sons out to dinner and then to the Holiday Lights in the Park.

IMG_7615 21.6 miles done with 3 runs and 4 rest days.

This Week:  (taper time – race week)

  • Monday-  3.1 miles after work
  • Tuesday – tennis
  • Wednesday – 3.1 miles before work
  • Thursday –  3.1 miles before, pack
  • Friday – rest, fly to Florida
  • Saturday – rest
  • Sunday – 13.1 miles!!!
  • Monday – rest, fly home
I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway!

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races ?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. The pic of your hubby and cat is too funny! Great job getting in your miles before your Thanksgiving feast. I did six miles before visiting family the rest of the day. We also put up our Christmas decorations as well as our tree this wk. I can’t belive Christmas is around the corner.

    Like

  2. You certainly kept busy, especially doing those two races on Thursday! I wish I had some options for multiple races that weren’t 30 (or more) miles away. The pumpkin pie looks heavenly 😉

    Like

  3. Still no races. I debated over a 5k on Saturday, just taking one of my dogs and run/walking but I decided not to. (I didn’t want to be THE last person in.) Those printed tights under the skirt is very cute! The holidays lights in the park look very festive and I’m sure the kids enjoyed that. Have a wonderful trip to FL and a great race! I appreciate you linking up with us, Darlene. Here’s wishing for a shiny new PR!

    Like

  4. How fun that you are going to Florida this weekend. I am so jealous of all your races. I so wanted to do a turkey trot, but just could not fit it in this year. Next year for sure. And I am now going to look for a couple local races before the end of the year….I need another short one for fun!

    Like

  5. Looks like you had a great week of running! I didn’t do any Black Friday shopping either. No deal is worth fighting that crowd in my opinion. We decorated for Christmas on Friday instead. I love snowman decorations too, which is kinda crazy cause we very rarely see snow in central Alabama. Good luck on your upcoming half marathon!

    Like

  6. I love the snow on your page! As a tradition the men go play golf on Thanksgiving day, My hubs came in complaining about his arms and back, I was like geeeze poor baby, I just ran 18 miles!!! Oh well I too had a great Thanksgiving dinner with my in-laws. I think sweet potato casserole is a must! Thanks Darlene for linking up with us!

    Like

Leave a Reply

