Wednesday Word: Tradition


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is TRADITION.

Of course, a song comes to mind (from Fiddler on the Roof):

I could talk about family traditions

Holiday dinners, birthday celebrations.

eva

my MIL’s 90th birthday

There are also religious/holiday traditions.

I am Jewish and my hubby is Catholic so I get to celebrate both if I wish.

I love to decorate the house each year with snowmen

the lighting of the candles at Chanukah

IMG_4637

opening gifts every Christmas morning with my mentee and sons

I have traditions that I share with my friends.

IMG_3937

our annual Broadway show

20140522-124137-45697795.jpg

our annual vacation

our annual holiday party with a Chinese auction/grab bag

IMG_6545

annual weekend at the Schroon River house

But since this is a running blog, what are my running traditions?

  • a Thanksgiving Turkey Trot

  • a Holiday Lights Race

5k:29:02

  • a race on my Birthday

IMG_5722

  • a race-cation in the winter somewhere warm

IMG_4838

  • the Freihofer’s Run for Women
IMG_5821

this is the only race that I have run every year

Happy Running! Any traditions?

runner-sig

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway!

17 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Tradition

  1. I don’t really have any running traditions yet. There’s 1 or 2 races that I participate in each year, but more so because they’re good for our community. But this time of year is ripe with holiday traditions for my family. All the decorating, baking, Christmas movies on TV, music, and gift giving. It gets to be a little overwhelming sometimes, but it’s my favorite time of year!

    Like

  2. An annual Broadway play sounds like a wonderful idea! In previous years, I ran a half in Florida the first weekend in December with my oldest son. It’s not happening this year. I like making candy with the kids and watching Christmas movies. I love looking at lights too, the tackier the better!

    Like

  3. you have so many great traditions that cover a variety of areas — running, friends, holidays — love it. i have a few run traditions — i try to do the Turkey Trot as often as possible and plan to do it yearly with the boy from now on, and i always run one of the Hudson Mohawk races on Columbus Day wknd (half or full) and have done the BK Half the past 3 years (love that race). SO many family traditions as well, as my small fam is super tight!

    Like

  4. This is so much fun reading about everyone’s traditions, for the holidays and otherwise 😉 My best friend from college is Jewish, and also married to a Catholic LOL I feel very blessed to have her in my life…growing up in a small town in Iowa, all I knew was Christmas. It’s nice to understand and respect other religions. It’s great that you’re open-minded about celebrating both of your family’s holidays 😉 (And that girls trip to a Broadway show…wow!!! What a great tradition!)

    Like

  5. great traditions and I love how they involve different friends and family. I love decorating my house with snowmen too, cause in Florida those are the only snowmen I get!!

    Like

  6. Love this post!! We did similar post. When I first started writing I was going to do holiday traditions and then it just evolved to yearly including family and girlfriends and running (of course!) A warm racecations sound perfect!!!

    Like

  7. You’ve got so many fun running traditions! We always have an organized evening run on National Running Day, have a pancake run every June, run in a turkey trot, and have an annual Christmas party (we’re hosting this weekend).

    As always, thanks for linking up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

