Wednesday Word: Celebrate


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is CELEBRATE.

I love this song!!

There’s a lot of reasons to celebrate..

Special occasions

eva

my MIL turns 90!

IMG_7416

7 years playing mah jongg together

my mentee’s 21st birthday

some of my tenis friends & me before the wedding

a wedding

Holidays

IMG_4637

IMG_4635

New Year’s Eve

Passover

Accomplishments

I am not athletic.  I never played any sports growing up.

In my late 40’s & early 50’s, tennis was my biggest accomplishment and a reason to celebrate.  Playing, forging great friendships and of course, winning.

3rd place at 2002 Nationals

1st place 2010 Regionals

But my biggest reason to celebrate *(and my biggest accomplishment) has been being able to RUN. Finishing Races.  Winning the occasional age group award.  Making friends – virtual and face-to-face. Most importantly, being healthy to experience it all.

bazu-7525023

this was a horribly difficult race and yet I am still smiling.

20140111-205854.jpg

 Happy Running!  What do you celebrate?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Celebrate

  1. I am constantly celebrating the gift of running. I didn’t grow up being an athlete (ha!), and I still have a hard time believing I can actually do this thing called running. I have all my race medals hanging on an antique (?) coffee mug (accordian-type) rack, by our family calendar. There are so many times I walk by and have to stop and take it all in….I don’t know how many medals I have on there (60?), but it’s humbling (and wonderful) to know that they’re all mine 😉 Congrats on all of your accomplishments!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

