My Year in Racing: 2015



I’m linking up with Montana from Pretty Lil Mudder and bunch of other bloggers to give out some awards to the races I ran this year.  Since I ran 38 races, I had no problem finding a race for each category but it was difficult to just pick ONE race.

Most Scenic Course – 

I loved the views of the Hudson River while running across the bridge during the Walkway Half Marathon.

Photo By: Martin Weiner

Photo By: Martin Weiner

It was also awesome to run with views of the ocean during the beginning and end of the West Palm Half Marathon.

race_697_photo_14870904

race_697_photo_14871007

Most Challenging Course

I didn’t run any super hard races but I guess since it had hills, I’d say the most challenging was Vermont City Marathon Relay.

– from Burlington Free Press

There were quite a few hills in the Stockade-athon 15K too.

Stockadeathon-1047

Best Course Support (aid stations, volunteers, people cheering you on, etc)

Again, the crowds come out in mass to support the Vermont City Marathon runners.  People were out there cheering the whole race and there was an abundance of water stations and volunteers.

Another popular local race is the Freihofer’s Run for Women. Lots of support here too.

Best Expo

Vermont City Marathon hands down had the best expo. In fact, of the 7 half marathons, this was the only big expo that I attended.

deenkastor

it was so cool to meet Deena Kastor.

Technically the NYC Marathon had the best expo but I didn’t run that race but went to it to pick up my bib for the 5k.

image

I bought this awesome sweatshirt on sale

Best Swag

In addition to the normal race shirt, at the Apple Run 5k, you got a zippered tote bag, sunglasses, water bottle, and other goodies.

IMG_7006

Most Unique Medal/Award

I get tons of medals for age group awards so I was excited to get something different. I loved the bridge award from the Walkway Half Marathon.

3rd

I also like to get practical things. So winning this hat at the Polar Cap Race was great. I’ve already worn it several times.

2nd

Best Post-Race Food/Beverages

Definitely one of the reasons I run the Bacon Hill Bonanza 5k is the food.  They have chocolate milk (from a nearby farm), homemade cookies & muffins, chili, pizza, vegetarian rice dish, etc.

image

image

20140412-163900.jpg

The Asbury Park Half Marathon also had amazing food.

potato, macaroni & pasta salads and more…

Best Race Shirt-

On the whole, I didn’t love most of my race shirts. But I guess my favorite would be the one from the Bacon Hill Bonanza. It doesn’t have sponsors on the back and it is very light and comfy.  I have even worn it several times even to play tennis.

image

I also like the long sleeve tech shirt from the Great Pumpkin Challenge – love its bright yellow color.

IMG_7152

And the shirt from the Walkway Half Marathon is also very light and comfy plus it is made from all natural materials.

IMG_6129

Favorite Overall Race

That’s a tough one. I enjoyed so many of my races this year.  I’d have to say the Dash the Finish 5k because I got to run in NYC and cross the NYC Marathon finish line.

image

Race You Are Most Proud of Yourself for Completing

I am proud of completing ALL my races.  None ever seem easy.  I am especially proud that I can run 13.1 miles!!

So I would have to say the Asbury Park Half Marathon because of how painful my feet were the whole race

ap hm

and the EAU Palm Beach Half Marathon due to the heat and humidity that I was not acclimated to.

bazu-7532702

(Maybe I should wear different colors LOL)

_____________

DON’T FORGET TO ENTER MY MEALENDERS GIVEWAY!!!
Click HERE.

Happy Running! What awards would you give to the races you ran in 2015?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “My Year in Racing: 2015

  1. Pingback: 2015 Running Review - Getfithappyhealthy

  2. The bridge AG medal is awesome!! You had a great racing year. It inspires me to try to get out there more and I did this past year and I hope that continues for 2016. I hope we can leave all these foot issues in 2015! Cheers to a happy 2016 🙂
    Vermont loooked really hilly!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

