Monday Running Update


spring 2015 monday
Last Week: 

  • Monday –  Ran 5 miles in the morning on the paved rail trail with my running friend Barbara. Finally felt like winter (in the 20’s) and my body was confused.  Found it hard to breathe with the colder air but I think it was really that running with Barbara makes me run at a faster pace.  Felt good to get out of my comfort zone.

img_8035

Since I haven’t sat down since last Wednesday, I decided to purchase some toys to help me: wool to knit an infinity scarf, a puzzle and some adult coloring books.

  • Tuesday – Winter weather continued with our first snow fall (just an inch with some sleet so roads were a mess). I was glad to stay home near my fireplace with my new coloring books, knitting project and puzzle. (Yes, I am trying to relax…) In the evening, I played 1 1/2 hours of tennis followed by dinner out.

  • Wednesday I had a car appointment in the morning (2 1/2 hours of knitting time) which I followed with a 5 mile run.  I was happy for find some place without slush. Afterwards, I went shopping to take advantage of some of those after Christmas sales.

img_8043

  • Thursday – A relaxing day followed by a movie and dinner out with the hubby to celebrate New Year’s Eve.

Nicole’s in Albany – best dinner I’ve had in a long time!!

  • Friday – First race of 2016 -a popular local race where I ran the 3.5 mile race. I knew a lot of folks there so it was a fun way to start the year.

img_8060

After the race, I ran 3.5 more miles around campus.

img_8062

  • Saturday – When  you’re off all week, there’s not much to catch up on…so I did some cooking and shopping. In the evening, the hubby & I went to ANOTHER movie.

don’t see it unless you like 2.5 hrs of blood.

  • Sunday – Another long run in preparation for my Feb. 7  half marathon.  This time, I ran 10 miles on the Corning bike path. Judy was nice enough to accompany me on 3.5 of them. Afterwards I met my BFF for a walk in the mall.

img_8082

26 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days.

This Week:  (4 weeks until Half Marathon #17)

  • Monday – rest, tennis
  • Tuesday – 4 mile run after work
  • Wednesday – 3 mile run after work, yoga
  • Thursday –  rest, dinner out with an old friend
  • Friday –  3 mile run, mah jongg
  • Saturday – rest
  • Sunday – HMRRC Winter Series #2 10K race + 3.8 more miles
I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races ?

runner-sig

27 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. Nice job with your running this week Darlene. Seeing two movies and a nice dinner out with hubby was a great way to enjoy your break. I am so happy that we are finally getting colder weather here in NC. Christmas day was a record 80 degrees and while taking my family to the beach in the afternoon was fun, it was not what I expect or want on Christmas.

    Like

  2. I was looking around at races and there’s a chocolate half in Savannah my birthday weekend. So, so tempting. Don’t think my husband will go for it and I’m not sure I could be half ready in 6 weeks plus I can’t find any race reviews. But chocolate . . . Savannah . . . getting away in winter . . . a girl can dream.

    I meant to mention it on the blog; maybe I’ll just have to do a FB post (because that’s a gentle way of telling my husband).

    Probably not a great idea . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wow, good job on getting all the miles in! I am training for a 21km on the 21st Feb, its gonna be a tough hilly one, but I am hoping I have enough time to prep for it. Those movies look interesting too, I have never even heard of them!

    Like

    • Christmas break is a good time to see movies…I think I saw more than I did the rest of the year.

      Good luck with your February race!!!

      Like

  4. Your scarf is really beautiful – nice lacework!

    We only saw one movie in the theater over the holiday (Star Wars, natch), but our son has a home theater so we saw several there. Still, I want to get out and see a couple here in town before they disappear.

    Like

  5. Yo are doing great with the mileage 🙂 I can only seem to hit those weeks when I am off work. Your knitting is pretty!
    Feb. will be here before you know it 🙂 I don’t mind cold, but snow and slush 😦 It has turned cold here all of a sudden lol I am not used to it!

    Like

  6. I enjoy doing puzzles and usually do them at the beach. I find it very relaxing. You’d have to teach me how to knit. I really want to do a late February half. I’m just waiting to see how this weekend unfolds. My hubs and I rented the last Mission Impossible and I fell asleep. Any time I sit still with dogs snuggling with me, that is what usually happens. I think it was good 😉 Thanks for linking Darlene and Happy New Year!

    Like

    • I’d love to teach you…I’m not that good. I do the same when I watch movies at home (but with my cats). I usually stay awake in the theater because it’s not as comfortable and the theaters are COLD!!

      Like

  7. How awesome!! I can’t remember if I’ve told you or not, but I’m a knitting geek (actually, anything involving color, creativity, and art makes me geek out). I love the adult coloring books! Aren’t they fun?

    Like

    • No, that’s so cool. I love knitting. I used to quilt a lot too but running has taken over my life LOL. Just started coloring – love it too.

      You have any races on the east coast??

      Like

  8. Busy week for you ! How did you like the adult coloring book ? I am thinking of getting one. Otherwise, I am on a puzzle kick at the moment ! Great winter activity.

    Like

    • I love puzzles but I picked a really hard 1000 piece one so I take a break with coloring – it’s so relaxing and lets you be creative.

      Like

    • I haven’t used my coloring books much yet but I hope to. The scarf is still a work in progress but thanks. Good luck to you for a successful 2016.

      Like

  9. I so wish I knew how to knit. I made a scarf a few weeks ago but all I did was take strands of yarn with different textures along with some ribbon and tied a know in the middle. It was cute but that’s about the extent of it. I think after I recover from the marathon I’ll go for running 4 times a week, even if they are mainly short. We’ll see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

