TOLT: One Word , a New Half, Winter & Long Runs


Since it is Thursday,  I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

thinking out loud

What I am thinking about today is…

My One Word for 2016.

The My One Word approach is popular every year.

If you’ve never heard about it, here is a summary:

Lose the long the list of changes you want to make this year and instead pick one word. This process forces clarity by taking all of your big plans for life change and narrowing them down into a single thing. Your one word focuses on your character and creates a vision for your future.

2014 was the first time that I tried it.

My word was:

514_400x400_NoPeel

In 2015,  the word that I chose was:

This year, I am picking:

What is Gratitude?

Gratitude is “a feeling of thankfulness or appreciation.”

Why did I choose Gratitude?

Expectations lead to disappointments.

As runners, I think (myself included) we focus too much on mileage totals, PRs, bling, etc. And we expect to improve or run at a certain pace and when we don’t, we get depressed or even stressed.

Especially as we age, we need to concentrate on being thankful that we CAN run.

How will I focus on my word?

  • Be more positive.
  • Post more about the good things that happened during a race or a run.
  • Run & race happy.
  • Forget those PR and pace goals.
  • Volunteer more.
  • Thank those who make races possible.

Half Marathon #18

I am also thinking about a dear friend who had a mastectomy on Tuesday.  It is her 3rd bout with breast cancer (& 2nd in 2 years.) She is strong. She is optimistic. I am confident that because of these qualities, she will beat this terrible disease.

So I made the impromptu decision to run another half marathon – one in her honor.

clhm

March 13, 2016

It is very hilly. It is only a 5 weeks after my Florida half. But these tough 13.1 miles will be nothing compared to the pain that my friend has endured.

clelevation

Winter

Dec 24:

img_7935

Jan 5:

img_8088

Amazing!

I HATE the cold.  But I hate the treadmill more.

So yesterday after work, I braved the cold and ran outside.  I was cold but I survived.  It wasn’t so bad and I felt really “badass” when I was done.  I warmed up at Starbucks where the barista remarked “You run when it’s this cold!?” And I responded “Yes, I do!”

Long Runs

But what do you do when the weather doesn’t cooperate?

sat-sun

I had planned to race (10K) on Sunday and add more miles on afterward to complete 10 miles total.

I don’t want to run 10 miles IN THE RAIN!!!

So I could change to do my 10 miles on Saturday (before the rain and if there is no ice and snow on the ground from Friday night). That means that I would rest on Friday (with Thursday also being my rest day) and on Sunday, skip the race or only run the 3 mile option. Or I could run on Friday and skip my long run since I did run 10 miles last Saturday and run 11 miles next weekend.

Decisions, decisions, decisions..

Happy Running! If you were to choose ONE word for your focus throughout this year, what word would you choose? Anyone else running this half marathon? Do you run outside in the colder temps? Does the weather get it the way of your long runs or do you run in any conditions? What are you thinking about today?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “TOLT: One Word , a New Half, Winter & Long Runs

  1. I was thinking of my cousin’s husband, who is dealing with cancer and chemo right now, when I was doing a particularly hard long run recently, and I kept telling myself that this wasn’t nearly as hard as what he’s going through. Gratitude, indeed, for what we CAN do, right? Great choice.

    Like

  2. Kindness and gratitude are the [two] words that I picked for myself this year, and I love choosing a word over making goals/resolutions because I feel like it applies to so many different aspects of my life and makes me a better person overall. And gratitude is always a great word — expectations really are joy killers.

    Like

  3. Gratitude… Yes! That’s so funny, I was just thinking today (before I saw your post) about what a good trait gratitude is, and how I need to work on it! Great post!

    Like

  4. I love gratitude! That’s so great. I tried to work on this sentiment last summer/fall when I was dealing with all my job chaos. I had a little journal and wrote down three things I was grateful for each night. Sometimes it was something really petty like “I’m grateful that I didn’t throw something at a client today” and other times it was something less ridiculous, like grateful for my cuddly dog or roof over my head, etc. Happy New Year!

    Like

  5. I am so glad I went and read this! I like the word of the year idea 🙂
    Gratitude is a challenge for me at this current moment lol which is why I guess I needed to read this…I am going to think on what my word would be. Right now it annoyance lol because I can’t run, I need to change it.
    I hope your friend is doing well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

