LSD & a DNS


winter4-216

winter series #3 in 2013

Once again the Hudson Mohawk Runners Club sponsored a FREE race for its members.

For Winter Series #3 today, they offered distances of 3M, 10K and 25K.

Since I have a half marathon in 4 weeks, I would have chosen to run the 10K and then add on more miles after. But due to predicted rain, I decided to do my long run yesterday and maybe just run the 3 mile option today.

I like to vary my long run routes – so far I have run on the Delmar Rail Trail…

img_7939

on the Corning Bike Trail…

img_7970

So this week, I decided on the Nisky Bike Trail.

My plan was to run 4 miles and then Judy would join me for 6 miles.

The path was clear and the temps significantly warmer than the beginning of the week (10 vs 40 degrees)

img_8091

But there were also sections that were icy… (I tiptoed over those)

img_8093

As you can see, the river isn’t frozen yet.
img_8094

Since I felt good, I wound up running 5 miles and then met Judy.

We ran most of our run in the opposite direction… turned around when there was ice.

img_8095

I got 11 miles done and I was a happy camper.

fullsizerender

I stopped off on my way home for my reward Starbucks and at Target (where as usual spent way too much money.)

The rest of the day was spent putting away those holiday decorations (it’s hard work.)

Today I woke early to POURING rain with high winds predicted.

I had planned on running the race.  I knew many people going and I have raced many times in the rain. And it was warm (in the 50s.)

1798082_684504678254632_1919006174_n

the Love Run

Lake George Half

Lake George Half Marathon

But for a free local race….NOPE!!

I stayed home and cooked.

The only thing I may brave the rain for today is a movie.

Here’s a pic from last week’s race – pretty much for the same course as today’s race.

Hangover_Half-156-XL_edited

I miss racing but am glad to be home and dry.

If the weather is better, I plan to run the 15k next Sunday and the 10 miler on Jan. 31.

Happy Running! Do you run in the rain?

runner-sig

7 thoughts on “LSD & a DNS

  1. I’d have done the same thing, especially since you weren’t out any money. It’s not like you don’t get in plenty of racing; staying inside, out of that yucky weather sounds pretty good to me.

    Like

  2. A free local half? Wow, I was thrilled with a $40 half near my home. We ran 9.1 miles on Saturday in the rain. It wasn’t steady or torrential, but it was rain.
    I’m just glad it’s above freezing.
    Have a great half!
    Andy

    Like

Leave a Reply

