Wednesday Word: Accountable


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is ACCOUNTABLE.

What does it mean to be accountable?

“Required or expected to justify actions or decisions” (according to the dictionary.)

I started my running blog in March 2008 when my friend convinced me to to join No Boundaries and learn to run.  My blog began as a way to hold myself accountable for my running by putting everything out onto the Internet for everyone to see and (hopefully) inspiring others along the way.

How does my blog keep me accountable?

Keeps my training on track

There’s no better way to log your weekly miles than to put it on your blog. Plus, when you know others will see it, you’re more likely to be motivated to get out there and do it.

I plan my runs on Monday. And then update what I actually did on the following Monday. So when I don’t do exactly what I had planned, I can tell my readers what happened, hopefully imparting invaluable advice such as that all training plans must be flexible. I am human and I do skip runs or do extra ones.

Binding myself to my race times

As they say: “Pain is temporary, but race times live on the Internet forever.”

I keep a list on my blog of all my races and their times. I also have a page that shows my PRs.

Seeing that on my site is a daily reminder of what I am working toward as well as how far I’ve come.

It also shows that I have good days and bad days and that race times are pretty unpredictable.

Sense of community

The first thing that happened after I started writing my blog was that I discovered some local running bloggers.  Soon I met them in the flesh and they became “my friends.”

If I had not blogged, I wouldn’t have met these great ladies.

DSC01360

img_8048

image

The longer I blogged, the more social media friends, I made. Three I’ve met and hope to meet more of you.

Many of them I will never meet, but my connection to them is just as strong. (I wish I could meet you all!!)

me & AJH (from Age Groups Rock)

before the race

image

There’s nothing like posting and having another blogger reply with a kind word of encouragement. And when you ask for advice, they are always there to help.

Helping others

Writing race reviews and posts on the struggles and triumphs of being an older runner can help others know that they are not alone.

There’s a whole bunch of runners out there dealing with the exact same trials and tribulations. I’m sure even younger runners can identify.

As runners, it’s not our speed or our age that binds us.  It’s that we share a special bond because “we run.”

I know that before I sign up for a big race, I scour the internet for reviews of the race. I find it very helpful when I read a fellow blogger’s honest account of a race. And when I am injured or have a running-related problem, I am relieved to find out that I am not the only one and also have received a lot of valuable advice in dealing with whatever ails or is bothering me.

Ambassadorships & Product Reviews

Once I started blogging, I was able to apply for several ambassadorships.

I am fortunate that a few companies actually picked me such as, SweatPink, Girls RunFast, SwirlGear (which no longer exists), Girls Gone Sporty, #RunChat, FitFluential, SkirtSports.

In most cases, it just means being part of a great running community.

In other cases, it means getting discounts on clothes.

IMG_6831

modeling my new SkirtSports top and skirt

And sometimes, you get the opportunity to try neat running-related products.

reviewing my LilyTrotter socks

and Huma Chia energy gel

These opportunities keep me accountable because I have to RUN and use the products!! Then on my blog, I am able to write an honest review which will be helpful to the company and to my readers.

Linkups

When I first started blogging, I just wrote whatever came to mind.  But now each day, you can participate in a different linkups.

Monday:

http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

hosted by Holly@  HoHoRuns and Tricia @MissSippiPiddlin

Tuesday: (A topic is posted for each Tuesday)

hosted by Erika @ MCM Mama Runs, Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life! 

Wednesday:

Deb Runs

hosted by Deb @ Deb Runs

Thursday:

thinking out loud

hosted by Amanda @Running With Spoons

Friday: (A topic is posted for each Friday)

DC_linkup

hosted by Mar @ Mar On the Run, Cynthia @ You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney @ Eat Pray Run, DC

Last Friday of the Month:

hosted by Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice

First Saturday of the Month:

In order to participate in a linkup, you have to post about a running-related subject.  This surely keeps me accountable.  And the best part, I discover new blogs and attract new readers on mine.

Happy Running! How are you accountable? Any ideas for scheduling a blogger meet-up?

runner-sig

 

11 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Accountable

  1. I would love to meet more bloggers! I don’t really use my blog to keep track of my workouts/mileage — for that I go old school and use my running journal; it’s just what works for me.

    The community is a BIG reason why I blog. That and somehow I am just driven to write; it’s very therapeutic to me.

    Like

  2. I love how your blog keeps you accountable! I feel the same way about mine. Plus, my blog keeps me positive, even when life threatens to drag me down.

    And meeting other bloggers is a huge plus. I’m hoping to add a few more to my corral this year with my travels!

    Like

  3. These are all the same reasons I started blogging! And they’re amazing ways to stay accountable. In fact, blogging is probably the ONLY thing that keeps me accountable to my fitness at times! At least until I started teaching fitness classes and making $$$ started keeping me accountable 😉

    Like

  4. That is great you actually made some buddies from blogging. I am always hoping for that. I started blogging to keep track of my races and the up and downs of trying to run more than 5 miles regularly lol Then it became more about community, support, advice 🙂 I am glad you put all the link ups in one place. I need to try to do at least one more post a week.
    Oh and discounts on clothes is awesome 🙂 I have not had that pleasure!

    Like

  5. I really enjoyed your post and how your blog keeps you accountable. I also didn’t realise there were so many linkups available. Thanks I must just join in one day. I’m getting back into running after a calf injury a few months ago and love feeling inspired by other bloggers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

