Thinking Out Loud Thursday – Caffeine and Sunshine


thinking out loud

So I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

Here’s what I’m thinking today…

CAFFEINE

In August 2013, I decided to give up alcohol and caffeine.  Crazy, right?

The story is that I am a terrible sleeper – it’s has to be dark, quiet, comfortable & I need a book.  Even then, I sometimes can’t sleep.  Somewhere I read that it would help to eliminate caffeine and alcohol.

It was really difficult to give up coffee. I LOVE COFFEE.

Then there’s energy gels.  Most have caffeine, right?  So I had to limit myself to rootbeer & peanut butter GUs.

Did my running suffer?  Not that I noticed.

Did my sleeping improve?? Hard to say.  Sometimes yes and sometimes no.

Little by little, I have been cheating by having decaf Starbucks lattes and an occasional glass of wine or mixed drink. I have even bought salted caramel and caramel macchiato GUs.

img_8086

But for some reason, this week I have been feeling the need for CAFFEINE!!! I mean like I crave it. I feel so sluggish at work.

So twice, I’ve gone to Starbucks and bought a Flat White. (Today could make it 3 times.)

img_8252

It was great.  I started to feel better and I felt so much more energetic after work. And I had great runs.

Am I going back to caffeine?

Not yet… but maybe soon.

I NEED SUNSHINE!!!

Maybe it’s not the caffeine that I need but the sun!!  It’s been cloudy for weeks and even if it is sunny, I work inside and it’s dark when I go out to run.

img_8246

I went for a short walk today…because the sky was blue and the sun was out.  It was cold and windy but you can’t have everything.

img_8143

And then after work when I run, it will look like above ….dark!! But at least I did get to feel the sun on my face for a few moments today.

ONE WEEK!

Yes, one week from day, I will be flying to Florida!! It’s too soon to trust the weather forecasts.

weather

half marathon on Feb 7.

I am just hoping for SUNSHINE!!

Happy Running! What are you thinking about today?

runner-sig

4 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud Thursday – Caffeine and Sunshine

  1. We may be in Florida at the same time. I am headed there soon for a cruise and I can’t wait. With all the recent trouble with my IT band and hip Bursitis, I can use a vacation. I know you are counting down the days and so am I. Sleeping well comes and goes for me. Sometimes I sleep better on days when I am super tired, but then I will exhaust myself and not be able to sleep. I think it is our age. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

