Wednesday Word: Run With Your Heart


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is Heart.

But of course.  It is February and Valentine’s Day is around the corner.

So how do you run with your heart?

ap-hm1-e1429721092388

  • Run for someone else.

IMG_3838

JA is a great kid who always has a smile on his face.  He cannot run but he is always appreciate of my running and sends me encouraging emails. (This is his latest FB post: Thanks Darlene for being the world’s best runner buddy and a great source of support!)

11039915_949980988348012_1783308283_n

thumbs up on my race.

  • Run for how it makes YOU feel (not for a finish time or pace.)

Eau Palm Beach Half

I had one of my slowest times in this race but I still felt good about my run.  It was hot. It was humid. It was windy.  But I finished!!!!

  • Run without a watch or mobile tracking device.
image

a park near where I work

Sometimes you just have to run and not pay attention to pace. Pick a place where you like to run and leave the technology behind. Just enjoy!!

  • Give the run or race your best effort.

I really did try to beat that 10 year old.  I did not but I tried!! Sometimes you will succeed and most times you won’t.  But always give it your all.

  • Believe that you are stronger and capable of MORE than you think.

nhm finish

From 3.1 to 13.1.  Yes, I never ran more than a 5k race when I attempted a half marathon. I was in disbelief when I completed my first half marathon.  And I was almost 57 years old.

If you run with your heart, you can do anything!

Happy Running! How do you run with your heart?

runner-sig

10 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Run With Your Heart

  1. This is a great post. I try to run my best, and running for someone else is a great thing to do. I hope to buddy up for a spring 5k with the GOTR or Stride programs at the local elementary schools. I love your last quote about having a runners heart.

    Like

  2. Great post! Although I always run with a watch, I don’t always look at the watch. And that can be very freeing, too.

    Some portion of my run is always about giving thanks: for my health, for the ability to run, for being outside in nature. And often some portion of my run is run for someone else, too; someone near and dear to my heart who is gone or struggling.

    Like

  3. I heart everything about this post Darlene, especially that you run for JA! It just shows what type of caring person you are. I learned something new about you. I did not know you went from a 5k straight to a half! Wow, you comment about you doing that when you were 56 but that is quite an accomplishment at ANY age!
    I often read the comments and conversations you and Judy have on your blogs. I love to see this wonderful friendship play out here! You both are so supportive of each other. Keep it up and I can’t wait to hear how it goes this weekend!

    Like

  4. I love the unstoppable quote! It so looks like you are going to take that kids down! That’s a great picture. Are you excited about your half? It’s almost time. RUN WITH HEART!

    Like

Leave a Reply

