Friday Five: Races for 2016


Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mar at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

frwme

My “fitness” topic for this Friday is Five Races I am looking forward to in 2016.

  1. Sarasota Music Half Marathon

Feb 7, 2016

Florida in the winter, visiting friends…another race-cation!! Just perfect!

Susan, me & Robin at Lido Key beach...can you guess which one of us does not live in Florida??

with Susan & Robin in Sarasota, 2013

2. Celebrate Life Half Marathon

clhm

March 13, 2016

It’s a hilly one but I have a good friend who has been diagnosed with breast cancer for the 3rd time. I will run 13.1 miles for her.

signs honoring those who are survivors – I bought one for my friend

3. Vermont City Marathon Relay

I ran this race last year with AJH and loved it.  I ran the first leg so this year I’m looking forward to running the 2nd 13.1 miles (and crossing the marathon finish line.)

ajh

AJH running the 2nd leg last year

4. Freihofer’s Run for Women

June 5, 2016

Of course, I have my race streak race – #9 this year. It’s a great course and it’s all women.  Plus you get cookies!!

AB-3069-XL

I love the energy in this all women’s 5k.

I also signed up for the Training Challenge again this year.

10422515_10152728634751618_2533787278118590781_n

I’m there somewhere?

5. ZOOMA Cape Cod Half Marathon

Sept 24, 2016

I love running with ocean views.  This also will be a mini reunion with 2 runners (Lisa & Andrea) that I ran the Love Run with in 2014 in Philly.

20140331-090931.jpg

Inspite of the rain, we had a blast.

There’s still a few more out there I’m considering besides my usual 30 or so 5ks.

Wouldn’t a Blogger Meet-Up Half be cool? Who wants to plan one?

Happy Running! What race(s) are you looking forward to in 2016?

runner-sig

 

4 thoughts on “Friday Five: Races for 2016

  1. One of the reasons I’m said I decided not to do VA Beach is the bloggers I won’t get to meet.

    That and the fact that THIS would be the winter to train for a March half! It was still the right decision for me, but I do sort of regret it.

    Like

  2. You have a great group of races on your calendar so far, but I know you will be adding many more. A blogger half would be really fun, but I don;t want to be a planner either!

    Like

Leave a Reply

