January Recap


january

Weekday Runs:

The weather got colder, windier and snowier (no big storms) but I still was able to run 2-3 times each week.

img_8088

img_8132

img_8138

img_8170

Long Runs:

In preparation for my upcoming half marathon, I completed higher mileage each weekend.

img_8082

img_8117

img_8162

img_8213

Total Mileage:

jan16

101!! The most monthly miles in years or maybe ever!

img_8264

Races:

I ran three races (& DNSed on one). All were part of the the HMRRC Winter Series (and were free.)

img_8060

35:00 (Gun time)

img_8164

1:33:13 (course PR)

img_8263

1:44:10

Cross Training:

I continued to play tennis one night a week.

IMG_6210

indoors until June.

I actually went to a yoga class several times.

lheartspaceogo

I started to walk a little more at work (indoors around the building.)

20140401-112401.jpg

pretty boring walking in circles but better than sitting all day

I also discovered that I can knit while riding the exercise bike so I did that every now and then.

It’s done but I started a new one – maybe too complicated to do on the bike

img_8233

scarf #2

Other News:

I am a SkirtSports Ambassador Captain for another year. So thrilled to be part of this organization. Love the product and being associated with a great bunch of women.

ss ambassador

I am also a Running on the Wall Ambassador – they sponsor virtual races.

img_8198

Challenge Yourself Virtual 10K

I am Half Fanatic #13812. You qualify if you run 3 halfs in 90 days.  I did that in 2011 but never applied and did it again in 2015.

I celebrated 17 years being married to this guy:

l&d

then

12038287_10154200672714428_4679287681227959390_n

now

Feeling healthy so Life Is Good.

Looking Ahead:

I am taking race-cation in Florida for 6 days. During that time, I will be running a half marathon and visiting friends.

smhm16

Feb 7, 2016

I am hoping for a mild winter so I can painlessly train for another half marathon in March.

clhm

March 13, 2016

I love racing and unfortunately I miss one of my favorite races while I’m in Florida so I am searching for a replacement.

IMG_4994

I hope to be back in 2017, AJH!

frostedmug

maybe on Feb 14???

I signed up for a September Half Marathon. I will be running it with Andrea and Lisa (my roomies from the Love Run.)

20140331-090837.jpg

having fun in Philly… plan to make more memories in Cape Cod (hopefully without torrential rain.)

The Vermont City Marathon Relay is no longer a lottery. 

vcm16

But WE got in! Woot! Woot!

vcm16

IMG_5785

The “Age Groups Rock” team will be back. This time AJH will be running the 1st leg and I the second.

No monthly goals.

my motto for 2016

Happy Running! How did you January turn out?  Anything exciting planned for February?

runner-sig

17 thoughts on “January Recap

  1. You continue to amaze me. Running in January and February in the cold is a major feat or at least for me and I live in the south. Run on Sista! Hope you have a great race in Florida.

    Like

  2. You had a great month and lots of exciting things to look forward to in 2016 ! Hope you are enjoying your time in Florida.

    Like

        • You have to start slow. I started out running 100 miles a year and last year, I was uninjured and ran 969. The important thing to be consistent, stay healthy and have fun!!!

          Liked by 1 person

          • So right now I am running 2 miles three times a week and a 3 mile run once a week. I also incorporate one day of swimming and one day of cycling. But I live in Minnesota and running outside right now is not an option- at least this year. I’m trying to be consistent but sometimes it’s hard to find the motivation to run more than a mile or so on the treadmill. Thanks for your encouragement!!

            Like

            • I know what you mean. The treadmill for me is torture!!!! I panic when I can’t run outside. So far, we have been spared the snow but this weekend it’s supposed to be sub zero & I have to run 10 miles …. 😦 😦

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

