Tuesday on the Run: Spring Race Plans


with Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life

tulip12d

This week’s topic is Spring Racing Plans

I’ll try to keep this short since I run A LOT of races. Here are the ones that I’m thinking about running:

  • Celebrate Life Half Marathon
    clhm

    March 13

It’s a hilly one but I have a good friend who has been diagnosed with breast cancer for the 3rd time. I plan to run 13.1 miles for her.

There will be signs posted in memory of those who have had cancer.

  • Shamrock Shuffle 5m

ss5m16

I ran it last year for the first time and it was a nice flat local race. So it’s on my race schedule again.

image

  • Ice Breaker 5k Challenge 

ibc5k

March 26

I ran this race 3 years ago and its course is one of my favorite places to run. You also race against the rowers on the river which is cool.

post injury 5k PR

  • Delmar Dash 5m

dd16

This race is flat and it is held near where I live so it’s on my list every year.

image

  • Bacon Hill Bonanza 5k or 10K

April 9

This is one of my favorites. The course is out in the country and I’ve won a pie both years I’ve run it. Let’s see if I can repeat.

image

  • Spring Run Off 5k or 10K

sro16

This race is held at the same location as the Ice Breaker. They have a great free pasta dinner the night before. I usually run the 10K. But since it’s the day before the Cherry Blossom, I may just run the 5K.

image

  • Cherry Blossom 5k

May 1

I love this race too. I am hoping for a year where the cherry blossoms are actually in bloom. This may be the year since it is 2 weeks later than last year.

2nd

  • Mastodon Challenge 5k or 15k

mc16

May 7

I ran the 5k last year on my birthday and fell. I want a redo or maybe I’ll challenge myself and run the hilly 15K.

IMG_5694

race location is near the Cohoes Falls

  • Mother’s Day 5K

md5k16

May 8 this year

I usually run a race on Mother’s Day so this is a possibility especially if it is the GOTR race. It is held at Central Park in Schenectady which is a great place to run. But there are several Mother’s Day races so I may just choose another one.

IMG_5729

pre-race last year

  • Summer 5k Addiction Awareness Run

ssm5k

May 14

This is a new race and is organized by the mother of one of the STEM runners who died of an overdose after completing her first 5k. This is her story – https://www.gofundme.com/Summer5k4addiction  There will be many other runners and mentors from the program.  I am honored to support this cause and to have known and run with Summer.

  • Vermont City Marathon Relay

May 29

I ran this race last year with AJH. I ran the first leg so this year I’m looking forward to running the 2nd 13.1 miles (and crossing the marathon finish line.)

ajh

AJH running the 2nd leg last year

  • Freihofer’s Run for Women

June 4

And of course, I have to run this race – my race streak race. This will be my 9th time running it.

AB-3069-XL

I love the energy in this all women’s 5k.

I also signed up for the Training Challenge for the 2nd time.

10422515_10152728634751618_2533787278118590781_n

I’m there somewhere?

  • Betar Byway 5K & Moreau Mile

bbw5k

This race has such a beautiful course.  Last year, I ran both the 5k and the mile.  It was a lot of fun. Once boating season starts, I try to run races that are held on my race up north.

IMG_5865

And yes, there will probably be more added.  Maybe even a half marathon in Aptil. Who knows?

Happy Running! What spring race(s) are you planning to run in 2016?

runner-sig

 

12 thoughts on “Tuesday on the Run: Spring Race Plans

  1. That’s a lot of races… and they all sound like so much fun! Sometimes I wonder whether we take races too seriously in the UK. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the cherry blossom timing is right for you. Our crazy weather means that lots of trees are in bloom here now, although the strong winds are doing their best to get rid of the blossoms 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

