Wednesday Word: The Triumphant Runner


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

Register for The Biggest Loser RunWalk at www.biggestloser.com/runwalk

This week’s Word is TRIUMPHANT

This is what it means according to the dictionary:

  • having won a contest; victorious
  • feeling or expressing jubilation after having won a victory or mastered a difficulty
 There are so many ways that this word applies to RUNNING.
When you run a race, you can feel triumphant for a variety of reasons:
  • You came in first. 

I was pulling off chips at this race so I got to see the winner cross the finish line.

It’s never happened to me but maybe you have been or will be this talented.

  • You won your age group.

als2

I have been lucky to win age group awards pretty frequently. I say lucky because it’s easier being in an “old lady” age group. Sometimes, I am the only runner in my age group.  But I still feel “triumphant.”

  • You conquered a new distance.
nhm finish

my first 13.1 miles

I’ll always remember my first 5k, my first 10k, my first 15k and of course, my first half marathon.

  • You overcame an injury.
frw12tu

first run after serious ankle surgery

I am sure we all can relate.  You’ve been injured and you wondered if you could ever run again. Then, you did.

  • You battled difficult weather conditions.
lg5

rain, sleet, freezing conditons

Yes, I’ve had to run 3 half marathons in the pouring rain. Running in the heat and humidity is just as difficult.

  • You completed a race even though you were injured.
Runners World 5K

smiling inspite of foot pain

I’ve run two 5ks with a foot stress fracture and one with a broken foot.  Plus, there have been many with blisters and a backache.

  • You ran a difficult course.
stock5

conquered those Schenectady hills

  • You achieved a PR.
IMG_4380

happy after a 10K PR

PRs don’t come easy.  Even when you train for them, they don’t often happen.  The older you get, the harder they are to achieve.  I savor each one.  You never know, if it will be the last one.

  • You BQed or qualified for a race.

W. Palm Beach Half Marathon

I have never experienced this and since I don’t run marathons, I will not. But I can imagine how awesome it would feel.  I would love to run a sub 2 hour half marathon so I could automatically qualify for the NYC Half marathon.  But I think I will just have to hope that I get in by the lottery system.

I try to choose flat races because I don’t train on hills.  And I suck at them.  So when I do run a race with hills, I feel “bad ass.”

But I think that every single time, I cross the finish line of a race no matter how short or how long or how easy or hard it was, I feel TRIUMPHANT!!

ME on page 2

Happy Running! When do you feel triumphant?

runner-sig

15 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: The Triumphant Runner

  1. I believe every finish line is a victory! I have won my AG a few times (and have placed in the top three even more). Trust me, my ego is in check LOL I know winning/placing feels great, and some of those have been PR’s….but it’s all relative to who ELSE shows up on race day. If I’ve run a good race, it’s a victory no matter how many others finish ahead of me 😉 (What awesome pics!!)

    Like

  2. Amen Darlene!! When you cross the line you are triumphant 🙂 I have felt so bad a few times I didn’t feel good about it till the next day lol but in the end good race, bad race, I still ran 13.1 and I know that is a gift. A gift I hope to enjoy again one of these days 🙂

    Like

  3. Hello! I just wanted to say how I have enjoyed reading your blog! I am also from the Albany area and have run in many of the same races! I am also supposed to be running the Celebrate Life Half in March, however I have been battling a hip strain, so I haven’t run in almost two weeks but I’m hoping I’ll be able to recover in time! Good luck with your training! After reading running blogs for the past few months, I decided to start one of my own! I would love any tips you may have! Here is the link to my blog! https://runningthroughmy20s.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • How cool. I hope I get to meet you. Are you taking the ARE bus to the race?

      Good luck with your blog. Bloggers are great people. I’ve learned a lot by reading them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

