Tuesdays on the Run: Favorite Race Medals


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life

img_8002-e1451245540711

This week’s topic is Favorite Race Medals

Most of my medals come from half marathons. And I love them ALL! I mean they mean that I actually ran 13.1 miles!!!

I have won a lot of age group awards so I have medals from those races and a few from some shorter distances.

It was hard to choose but I’d say that these are my favorites:

  • Sarasota Music Half Marathon 2016

img_8367

Of course, this is from my most recent half marathon.  I just loved this race course.

  • Naples Daily News Half Marathon 2011

A medal from my first ever half marathon…what more can I say?

  • First Watch Half Marathon 2013

IMG_4482

This was from another half in Florida. It was my first half marathon after my ankle surgery plus I love dolphins. I think that  this is my heaviest medal.

  • Walkway Half Marathon 2015

Walkway Half Marathon

This is one of the few medals that I have that is not made of metal – it is made out of wood.

  • RNR Brooklyn Half Marathon 2015

This is the arch in Prospect Park where the race began. This was the first time I had been back to Brooklyn since I was 5 years old. I used to live near there when I was little.

  • The Love Run 2014

I’ll never forgot running 13.1 miles in a monsoon rainstorm in order to get this medal.

  • Adirondack Distance Run 2014

This was from a bucket list 10 miler that I ran along Lake George. The race ends at the marina where we keep our boat.

  • Freihofer Run for Women 2012

They don’t normally give medals for this 5k but in 2012 you were able to purchase one.  I only did because I got a discounted registration so it didn’t cost me much.  I didn’t know at the time that I would break my ankle and that this would be my first run.  So this medal is very meaningful to me.

Happy Running! Where did you get your favorite medal? Why is it your favorite?

runner-sig

26 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: Favorite Race Medals

  1. You have lots of great medals! I’ll be running the Love Run this year and the medal looks pretty nice! The ones that are made of wood are so cool!

    Like

  2. I love that wooden medal, very unique! I think my favorite currently is the Tower of Terror 10 miler medal. IT was my first longer distance race and it has parts that glow in the dark. But you’re right that each of them tell a story 🙂

    Like

  3. So many great medals- congrats! I have a few favorites. The first one I ever earned will always be special Safari Park Half Marathon. I also like the RnRLA HM 2014 great design. I love skulls. Surf City surf board one is cute and the Santa Rosa spinny one is fun. This was a very fun post BTW!!

    Like

  4. Aren’t the R’n’R medals awesome? Most of my medals have symbolic value….I don’t know if I could hand pick an actual favorite. That Sarasota medal is pretty sweet, too! I Love your collection 😉

    Like

  5. I have only seen a couple wooden medals and those are very unique. My favorite medal is from the Boston Marathon, but I also think the RnR and Disney medals are pretty awesome too! Your Brooklyn medal is nice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

