Wednesday Word: Confident


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

img_4270

This week’s Word is CONFIDENT

So how does a runner get to feel “confident“?

I wish I could say that I am always confident before a race. Because often, I am not.

But here’s what I’d suggest:

  • Have realistic goals.

Of course, we runners have lofty goals. I’d like to run a sub 2 hour half marathon. But I am not confident right now that that can happen.  If you are goal-oriented, have multiple goals and one should be a goal that you can confidently reach.

bazu-7525857

One of my goals was to finish the race pain-free and I did.

  • Taper.

I am not good following my own advice. But no one should arrive at a race with tired legs.  The week before a race should be a cut back week with minimal mileage. I always like to rest two days before my race, as well.

image

Walking all over NYC the day before my half was probably not smart. Live and learn.

  • Know the race logistics in advance.

It is important to figure out where the race start is and where to park. And will it be crowded and how early should you arrive?  Will there be a bag check? How far away will the porta-potties be? Will there be many of them? Knowing the answers to these questions will help you feel confident on race day.

image

Very happy to have taken  a cab and arrived early at this crowded race in NYC

  • Come to a race prepared.

You know what I mean.  Bring everything that you will need – fuel, hat, gloves, throw-away items, bib, water, etc.  We have all forgotten something essential at one time or another. Like charging your watch….

IMG_5904

was running late and didn’t have time to put moleskin on my feet – hence BLISTERS

  • Be flexible.

In order to feel confident, you have to “go with the flow.”  It may rain. It may be windy. Some part of your body may hurt that has never hurt before.  There may be hills even though the course was described as “mostly flat.”

ap hm

My feet were never so painful as during this race (or after.) All my PR hopes just went out the window.

  • Find a friend or chat with a fellow runner.

Runners are great!  If you don’t know anyone at a race, just start a conversation with a stranger.  You’ll find that you have a lot in common. (You are running the same race, right?)

image

Lucky to find some fellow SkirtSports ambassadors!!

  • Trust your plan.

This is the most important one.  You have trained. You did your runs.  You are ready!  No second guessing. BE CONFIDENT!!

VCM Relay

Happy Running! Do you feel confident before a race? What did you do to get that way?

runner-sig

27 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Confident

  1. good tips. i usually feel pretty confident, but i remember being so nervous my first half marathon. go with the flow is a good thing to remember, b/c how you feel mentally really affects your performance. i remember one race i ran (NYC Half), it was in the teens that morning while we were waiting for over an hour in Central Park for it to start, and we all started running with near-frozen legs. you never know what you’ll get!

    Like

  2. Feeling confident at the moment with my training and feeling confident about the race. I have a stressful job and have learned that its often mind over matter…

    Like

  3. I am never very confident when I line up to run. I think my 5K and my last half was the best I ever felt as far as pre-race nerves. Maybe finally, I can approach an event without a knot in my tummy.

    Like

  4. Be flexible and finding a friend are two things I plan to do when I race in April! Various training cycles I have felt more confident than others. Due to my recent injury, I have decided to make the London Marathon race an experience rather than a race. It will make the day much more enjoyable since I will not be in race shape that soon.

    Like

  5. I am really bad at trusting the training! And I also typically push myself too hard- instead of being happy at my times, I always think I can do better. I think this may be some backlash from my childhood when I felt nothing I did was good enough for my dad, but I’m working on taking it one step at a time! Being flexible is definitely important!

    Like

  6. What great pics!!! One time, I ran my favorite Dam-to-Dam race in some favorite shoes that had too many miles on them. By the third mile, my feet were on fire. It took a lot of serious grit and determination to keep going. So, yeah, Live and Learn 😉

    Like

  7. Yes, I usually feel pretty confident before my races because if my training has been off, I go into the race with a goal of just having fun. I also think confidence comes with age, so I’m plenty confident! 🙂

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

