Wednesday Word: Serendipitous


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

aftermotherday08

This week’s Word is SERENDIPITOUS.

Serendipitous is an adjective that means “Occurring or discovered by chance in a happy or beneficial way.”

What a perfect word to describe my running start.

One day after a tennis match, my friend asked me and my partner if we wanted to try running.  She ran and suggested that three of us enroll in No Boundaries, a FleetFeet program for beginning runners and learn to run.

Once a week, we ran together with the No Boundaries runners and coaches and afterward we would go to Chili’s for quesadillas and margaritas.

And so it began at age 55.

Since then, I’ve run over 180 races (I’ve lost count) including 17 half marathons.

Thanks Mary Pat and Pat for getting me started on this wonderful journey.

Serendipitous also describes many of my running connections and friendships.

I always read other running blogs. One day, a local blogger (The Happy  Runner) asked me to help her start a group for new runners (Strong Running Mamas) with the goal of having them run a 5k race. This group has grown immensely and now includes runners of all ages and levels. I bump into someone from that group at almost every race. They are so supportive.

Thanks Felice for starting this group.

Mary, serendipitously asked me to take her picture at a race in 2010.  We have been friends ever since…through all our injuries and even though she has recently moved to California.

Thanks Mary for racing with me so so many times. I miss you!

At a recent race, I bumped into someone I worked with for many many years.  I didn’t even recognize her and I was shocked that she was a runner. (Yes, physically she had changed A LOT.) At that serendipitous meeting, she bragged about training groups – Turkey Trot & Freihofer’s race challenges.  In fact, she talked me into signing up for one.

Since then, I have signed up for three more training groups.  I enjoy them and have met many new runners and maybe have even gotten faster (at least more confident.)

Thanks Gina. Glad you recognized me that day.

I could go on and one but I need to mention two local runners whom I can beg to keep me company on some of my long runs.

I used to do my long runs all alone but even if the pace is too slow or too fast, it is much more enjoyable to run with someone else.

Thanks Judy and Barbara for reading my blog and contacting me through FB.

Happy Running! How has running been serendipitous for you?

runner-sig

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Serendipitous

  1. Not sure I have anything happen with running, but I love your stories. I did have some unusual happen on our recent cruise. We met neighbors who live less than 1/4 mile away and we both walk dogs almost daily. How weird that it took going on a Caribbean cruise to meet a neighbor!

    Like

  2. That really awesome 🙂 A lot of happy moments…
    I am drawing blank as far as this word..I guess my Richmond PR was serendipitous…it had been so miserably hot here every day before and after race day it was amazing that is was cool that day! and I took full advantage of it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

