Shamrock Shuffle 5 Mile Race Recap


ss5

This was my 6th 5 mile race. Here are my previous stats:

Delmar Dash:
2015, 2014, 2013, 2011 – 45:26 (PR), 48:14, 47:39, 47:08

Shamrock Shuffle:
2015 – 46:29

But as you know if you read my blog, I am not focusing on times this year. And besides, my quads have been sore due to that insanely hilly half marathon. I wasn’t expecting even to finish under 50 minutes. It was more important not to get hurt and have to miss any upcoming races.

Being the second time that I’ve run the race, I was more prepared on how the course went uphill for the first mile, some rolling hills before it went downhill.  See below:

ss15

I was a bit nervous about those hills and trying to run fast. Plus I also wanted to have enough energy to run 4 more miles afterward as I am training for another half marathon in 5 weeks.

I was hoping that the weather would be a little more springlike and I could wear a green skirt.  But it was not.  It was COLD, much colder than last week.  So I just wore capris under a skirt, compression socks and several layers.

The race was about an hour drive from my house.  Although the parking lot was full, I found a spot on a nearby street. Everyone hung out in the gym waiting for the race to start.

img_8882

another cotton shirt to give to my buddy

I chatted with some runners that I recognized Sue and then Lara.  I also met some new faces.

Then I bumped into Laurie from my Turkey Trot training group.  We talked for a while being entertained by bag pipes.

image

With a late start (11 am), I was already hungry for lunch by the time the race began so I took a GU.

I was undecided about what to wear, as usual. It was cold and breezy but sunny. In the end, I decided on a baseball cap, 2 long sleeved shirts and a fleece vest plus gloves. (I left the jacket inside for later.)

img_8868

Soon, we headed for the start.  We waited until the last minute so we didn’t have to stand outside long in the cold.

It was not chip timed so I lined up close to the front.  Lara inside had told me that she really wanted to run an 8 min pace.  So she left me in the dust at the beginning.  I told myself to just “run your own race.”

As I mentioned, the beginning of the race went uphill. I took it slow.

image

over the highway bridge (pic front last year)

Although it was in the 20’s, the sun made it feel a lot warmer, I took off my gloves and unzipped my vest. I could have gone with one less layer.

Eventually I caught up with Lara.  Those 8 minute miles were not happening for her. We ran together for awhile.

At first water stop around mile 1.75, I walked. Then I continued running until we got the downhill portion. However, the wind picked up and my hat blew off.  I got it and put it back but not well (Wardrobe fail – new hat). It annoyed me and eventually I stopped and made it tighter.

Mile 3’s downhills gave me a boost but again at the second water stop around mile 4, I walked again and even longer than the first time. My legs were feeling last week’s hilly half.

But I just plugged along and refused to walk until I was done.

ss16a

ss16b

Finally, I saw the finish line and tried to sprint but I didn’t have much left.

img_8933

I crossed at 46:28. (I didn’t know at the time that like last year, my chip did not record my time.)

image

other runners heading to the finish line (last year’s pic too)

I went inside to the school cafeteria to get something to eat with Lara and her mother and then Laurie. I had a nice BIG jelly donut. (I ate it too fast to take a pic.)

We then waited in the gym for the results to be posted. Last year, I got 3rd.  I doubted that I would win again but you never know when you’re in the old ladies group.

Well, my name was not listed with the results and I would have gotten third again.


You got a medal and I have enough of those so I didn’t care. (In my mind, I won an AG award!!!)

But I did go back outside to talk to the timing people and sure enough the runner who crossed at 46:28 did not have a bib # attached to his/her time. They said they would fix it.

and they did

Splits:

2015 / 2016

mile 1- 8:55 / 9:10
mile 2- 9:31 / 9:30
mile 3- 8:58 / 8:52
mile 4- 9:35 / 9:24
mile 5- 9:19 / 9:27

s5m

I enjoyed the race (I enjoy them all) and was happy about how I did considering my sore quads and the course. It was not a PR but it was 1 second faster than last year.  I was expecting to be a lot slower.  I was glad that I didn’t push myself because I had planned more miles for the day…

Though I was tired and cold, I drove to the Zim Smith Trail to meet Judy.

img_8869

Originally I had though of the Betar Byway since it was nearby.  But it is hilly and I wasn’t sure that it was long enough. I had always wanted to run on the Zim Trail so it seemed like today would be a good time to try it.  Judy was nice to start her long run later and do 4 of her 9 miles with me.

img_8870

As you can see, the sun went in but the wind died down so it was a nice afternoon to run. Judy’s run/walk style was perfect for my tired legs.

img_8871

I like the trail.  It is 9 miles in total and I definitely plan to return and run more of it.

One of the perks of the trail is that you can park next to a bakery.

So yes, I’ll be back to the run on the trail and back to sample more of Leah’s baked goods.

img_8881

homemade peach blueberry pie – yummy

So I got my 9 mile training run done.  It just had a 1 1/2 hour break in the middle.

 Happy Running! How was your weekend? Any running or racing? Ever have your bib not record your time?

runner-sig

20 thoughts on “Shamrock Shuffle 5 Mile Race Recap

  1. Nice job on that 5 miler! And yes, I ran a race where my time didn’t get recorded. This was back in the day before chip timing. Because I’m old. We used to tear the tab off the bottom of our bibs and the recorder would slide it onto a big spindle. I ran a 5k in about 22xx. My best ever. I would have had an AG placement (you didn’t find out about that the same day either). But somehow, my finish never got recorded. I was so sad!

    Like

  2. Congrats on your time. That would have irked me to not have my time recorded, especially with an AG placement.
    Running near a bakery ? Sign me up ! I would totally justify something if I ran 9 miles.

    Like

  3. That pie looks just as yummy as Judy’s little treat! Even with a few frstrations, sounds like a good race and a great day! I’ve never had a time malfunction, but boy, sometimes I wish I had! 😉

    Like

    • Glad the beginning miles were uphill but the downhill was only mile 3 and then there were 2 more miles. At least they weren’t uphill.

      I really didn’t put it all out there. I was proud of myself.

      Like

  4. After such a busy weekend I am just now catching up on my blog reading. Great job on your race and another AG award. It’s nice you can meet Judy for runs now and then. Running buddies are the best!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Empowerment & Global Running Day – My First 5K and More…

Leave a Reply

