Monday Running Update


mon r u
Last Week: 

  • Monday – Rainy miserable day but at least it cleared up so I could take a short recovery run after work.
img_8799

only thing bright about the day was my shoes

Followed my run with a soak in the hot tub. Aaahhh!

  • Tuesday –  DOMS arrived to my quads today.  Otherwise, just a work day with 2 walks followed by tennis in the evening (and despite my sore quads, I played better than ever.) Instead of dinner out, we had wine and popcorn at the club.

20140708-194418-71058390.jpg

  • Wednesday – Another normal work day with an afternoon walk to the park.  Quads felt better so I went for a run after work. It was quite warm so I didn’t mind when I got caught in the rain twice.

 After my run, I stopped at the gym to use the machines.  Yes, first time since August!!!!

  • Thursday – A busy work day but got in a walk in the afternoon for my 50 cent cone at Stewarts.

Mint Marcy – yum

Since this was my rest day, in the evening, I just went for a walk with a friend in the mall instead of a run.

  • Friday –  Spring has temporarily left us.  I didn’t feel well when I woke up so took a needed day off from work.  By the afternoon, I was feeling better but it was insanely windy.  Not being at work, I had no option of a treadmill so out I went and battled the wind for a few miles. Then played mah jongg all evening.

actually wine and mah jongg

  • Saturday – My rest day!! I proctored the MPREs at work in the morning and then the afternoon, there was the usual catch up stuff – errands, housework, cooking… and it was cold!!! In the evening, I talked my hubby into getting a sub for tennis so we could go out to dinner.  Then I remembered that I was supposed to go out to dinner and a movie with 3 friends …Ooops!  Senior brain!! Anyway, I ate eggplant parm, pasta & a cannoli to carb load for my race the next day.
  • Sunday – Ran the Shamrock Shuffle 5 Mile Race for the 2nd time. I was pleased with my time considering it was a week after my hilly half and my legs were still in recovery mode.

img_8886

Afterwards, I ran on a new trail with Judy for 4 more miles.  The trail was conveniently located next to a bakery…
img_8885
18 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days.

This Week:  (5 weeks until Half Marathon #19) 

  • Monday –  Freihofer Challenge Group Run (3 miles), STEM Orientation
  • Tuesday – rest, tennis
  • Wednesday –  3 mile run, yoga?
  • Thursday –4 mile run
  • Friday – rest, mah jongg chez moi
  • Saturday – 5k race + 7 miles
  • Sunday – rest, Easter dinner
Once again, I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races?

runner-sig

19 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. Lookie there, we actually ran the same mileage this week!

    I think you’ll have to do your miles solo unless you convince Barbara to meet you next week. We still haven’t decided, but I’m thinking it makes more sense for us to visit my parents saturday; I’d go Friday, which is my Dad’s actual birthday, except I don’t think my husband wants to take good friday off on such short notice plus the weather isn’t looking good friday. But some of that will depend on my parents.

    Like

  2. That is great you snagged another AG pace! and had a strong tennis game this week, sounds good 🙂
    I love the pain now – beer later LOL
    Congrats on a great week!

    Like

  3. Congrats on your AG award! Those are the best! Looks like your training is going really well. We had gorgeous weather early in the week but this weekend it was miserable – cold and rainy. We turned our heat back on in the house for the first time in weeks. Where are you, spring??

    Like

  4. I have every intention of getting some running in this week! Last week = pitiful! the temp dropped here to 50 so what the heck!?! Good job on getting the 5 mile race one plus 4 more miles 🙂

    Like

  5. A 50 cents ice cream cone? Get out of town! No way, no how could I resist a bakery next to where I was running. Same goes with a coffee shop. Great job on the 5 mile race and that 3rd place finish. You keep racking up those awards. Thanks for linking with us Darlene.

    Like

  6. I’m not sure how I missed commenting on this post but I did! It wasn’t my quads but my hammy’s and rear that was sore last week after my PT work. I got in my 1 miler but the family wanted to run that afternoon and Oh my Goodness my legs were so sore just walking. Afte about 1/2 a mile they did loosen up. I glad I went but it did take some time to help! Thanks linking up Darlene!

    Like

Leave a Reply

