TOTR: When To Wear Your Race Shirt


with Erika @ MCM Mama Runs,
Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice
and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is Race shirt controversy: Wear TO the race or only AFTER the race?

AFTER!!!

They say it’s bad luck but it’s not that.  First of all, most of the time I don’t get my race shirt until the day of the race.  If it’s a destination race, even if I get it the day before, I have already planned my outfit.  Plus I wouldn’t know whether it is comfortable to run in or not. Believe it or not, I still sometimes get cotton shirts. And many are unisex and even the small is too big.

After a big race, however, I usually can’t wait to wear my shirt.

20131014-084753.jpg

after my Oct 2013 half while at the lake

img_8443

hanging out in Sarasota after my Feb 2016 half

???????????????????????????????

after my Sarasota half in March 2013

Many times, I wear them on runs after the race.

IMG_6129

my Walkway half shirt

DSC00623

I also wear race shirts from a previous race at another race.

Bacon Hill Bonanza

image

stock3

And those cotton shirts.  I give them away and use the long sleeved ones as throw aways in races.

Nope. I’ve never worn my race shirt TO a race.

Happy Running! What about you?

runner-sig

22 thoughts on “TOTR: When To Wear Your Race Shirt

  1. After! I’m not a superstitious person, by nature, but I do believe that it would be bad luck, especially a longer race like a half or a full!
    I usually wear the tech shirts when I run or just throw them out eventually, when I get too many. The cotton shirts I wear once or twice and then they become a shirt quilt.

    Like

  2. I’m with you, I never wear a race shirt until I have completed the race. I do like to wear them afterwards, usually the day I have raced in the afternoon. I have used a bunch of race shirts for a quilt, and workout in ones that fit well. The unisex sizing just does not work for me, so those shirts are in a pile someone, and like you, some are used as throwaways.

    Like

  3. I do the same things, except I rarely think to put it on right after a race!

    But sometimes I’ll wear one in another race, and definitely on training runs. And I wear the long sleeve tech tees under a jacket often in the winter.

    Like

  4. I definitely like to use them in training runs and at other races. Some of the race shirts I’ve gotten have been really nice and great for running in so I don’t want to waste them 🙂 I’ve only wore the race shirt at a race once. That was earlier this month for a St. Patrick’s Day race since I didn’t have anything else green.

    Like

  5. i think i wore the race shirt in 2013 from the Mohawk Hudson Marathon during the race, mostly b/c i liked the feel of it a LOT and i hadn’t brought another similarly-weighted shirt to wear — and it ended up being way colder than i’d expected that morning! i left it on for at least the first half of the race.

    Like

  6. You are lucky to have shirts that fit you. I never know whether I need a small or medium and of course it is never the right size…. grrrrr

    Like

Leave a Reply

