Runfessions March


It’s that time again.  Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

I runfess…

I can’t seem to motivate myself to run in the morning before work.  It’s not that I sleep in but I am lazy.  I sit around watching the Today show, eating breakfast and reading email/blogs. Then all of a sudden, it’s time to go to work.

I did once this month and found it a great way to start the day but only ONCE it was…

img_8781 I runfess…

Speaking of doing things only once.  I went to the gym ONCE. And it wasn’t bad.  It barely took any time out of my busy schedule. But I haven’t repeated the gym experience.

IMG_6286
I runfess…I am injured.  Not a running injury.It’s tennis elbow.  But I treated it the same as a running injury.

I got my racket restrung.  I knew from the first swing that something was wrong.  I ignored it. It was sore and I ignored it and I continued playing each week. Eventually, it was more than sore, it hurt.  So I wore an arm band and played.  Now it really hurts so I am taking some time off and having my racket strung correctly.

Tennis is costly and I hate taking time off.  Yes, I know that if I took care of it right away, it would be better by now.   I am stubborn that way. (At least it doesn’t hurt when I run 🙂 )

IMG_6209

on the sidelines now…hoping to be cured by my May tennis vacation

I runfess…I started caring more about my lack of sleep than my steps.

The first thing I do in the morning is check my FitBit to see how bad my night’s sleep was.

img_8502

I usually get 5 hours…sometimes 6. Never enough!!!

I runfess…

So I’ve decided that I need to do 10,000 steps a day again.  This is easy when I run but on the days that I don’t run, I am lazy. So I turned to walking around the mall.

This is great for my legs but not my pocketbook.

I wind up adding bills to my credit card in addition to steps on my FitBit.

But I only buy items ON SALE and/or with COUPONS.

gap

I got it at the Gap in grey striped for $3.50

macys

I got it at Macy’s for like $9.

And there was more but I’ll spare you.I runfess…

I used to do all my long runs alone.

But I got spoiled. Most of them lately have been run with Judy or Barbara. I have enjoyed the company and it made the miles much less painful.

img_8647

However, today both of them were busy…

I was going to have to run alone.  So I asked on FB and found someone that I have never met to run with me.  I have no idea if we run at the same pace.   So we’ll see how it goes.  I’m pretty adaptable unless she runs at an 8 minute pace or a 14 minute pace.

I runfess…

I don’t like hills. I walk rather than run up them.  And I don’t train on hills.

So why do I sign up for hilly races?

Decal-13.1-Celebrate-Life-e1446773610315

Mar 13- the hillest EVER

April 9 – a quite hilly 10K

April 24 – rolling hills for all 13.1 miles

ccc16

rolling hills – but I still have time to back out of this one…

So I should do some hill repeats or stop whining about the hills!!!Happy Running! Anything to runfess this month?

runner-sig

 

8 thoughts on “Runfessions March

  1. I prefer running in the morning, else I am pretty sure it will not get done. My form suffers in the evening because I am tired and I have 50 million things in my mind so I don’t enjoy it as much.

    I love going up hill and run up all of them, no matter how long or steep. My problem is coming down. too much pressure on quads and knees…

    Like

    • I am tired after work but I just force myself. I too am a much better runner in the morning.

      Love the hills?! Good for you. I need to change my mindset.

      Can’t wait for Paris!! Bon courage!!!!!!!!!

      Like

  2. I can tape your elbow. 🙂 Seriously, despite never playing tennis I have tennis elbow in BOTH elbows. In fact, the right one hurt so much after Celebrate Life I taped it up for a couple of days (first time I’ve done that) — and it really worked — after a couple of days it was like new!

    Borrow someone’s dog. The only thing I did all day yesterday was walk Lola because my parents don’t have a fenced in backyard and I racked up almost 9000 steps with 4 hours in the car!

    Like

    • My elbow is beyond tape. The tendons are damaged due to playing with tight strings and against hard hitting opponents. I can’t even straighten my arm. At least, it’s bent when I run so doesn’t hurt at all.

      I would love to have a dog but just so I could walk him/her.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Shelters are always looking for dog walkers. 🙂

        You’d be surprised about the tape — I’ve had some pretty serious tennis elbow, believe me. The tape helped a lot (and no, running doesn’t bother it, but it was sore after that relay — not during, afterwards).

        There are also exercises you can do that help a lot, but they take some time to work (not that much time to do).

        Like

Leave a Reply

