TOLT & My March Recap


I can’t believe March is over already…

So here’s how things went:

Weekday Runs:

The weather was fickle – there were warm days and then there were cold days. There were even rainy and windy days.  I was still able to run 2-3 times each week – mostly after work.

img_8860

img_8781

img_8924

Long Runs:

There was a half marathon. Then I immediately started preparing for my next half marathon. So I continued to run higher mileage on the weekend.

img_8741

a week before the half

img_8885

5 mile race + 4 = 9 miles (a week after the half)

img_8955

5k race + 7.4 = 10.5 miles

Total Mileage:

86 miles this month!

mar16

Less than last month but about average for me.

Races:

I ran THREE races this month – a 5k, a 5 miler and a half marathon. 

img_8789

2:22:40- very hilly race

img_8886

46:28 (3rd in my AG)

img_8956

27:55 – 1st in my AG

I was happy with how they all went. I did not have PR goals and of course, they could have been faster but the shorter races were the first part of a long run.  And the half marathon had hills which I had not trained for.

Cross Training:

I continued to play tennis one night a week until my tennis elbow flared up.

IMG_6210

may have to take a break for awhile

I DID NOT go to a single yoga class!! I planned to but something usually got in the way.  Next month, I promise! (Wait, I said that last month!!)

lheartspaceogo

I continued to walk at work (around the building and to Starbucks or the park). I have also started going to the mall to get more steps in on days when the weather is lousy.

img_8252

My Starbucks addiction continues!!

I went to the gym once. It was not so bad but now my elbow is my excuse.

Sat am at the gym

Other News:

I met my GOTR running buddy.  Her name is Jayme and she is in 5th grade. We will be corresponding through notes and then I run both the practice 5k and the real 5k with her. She is very cute and it should be fun.

I ran twice with the Freihofer Challenge Training group. My “advanced” group friends signed up again.  There are also some new runners. I have enjoyed it so far.

img_8912

img_8969

I am still working on that scarf.  It is very long. Someday I may finish it and start something new.

I’ve gotten back into reading.  Finished this book:

enjoyed it …it’s about a grandmother telling her life story to her granddaughter.

Feeling healthy so Life Is Good.

Looking Ahead:

The place where I work is participating in the Million Mile Month for the month of April.  I plan to walk/run 100 miles.

MMM_VertLogo_2016_forweb_copy

I am training for another half marathon in April. It’s another hilly but scenic one. I am looking forward to the lake views not necessarily the hills.

April 24

I have been busy signing up for spring races.  This is my list so far for the next 2 months:

  • 4-03-16 – Delmar Dash 5 miler
  • 4-09-16 – Bacon Hill Bonanza 10k
  • 4-30-16 – Spring Run Off 5k
  • 5-01-16 – Cherry Blossom 5k
  • 5-07-16 – Mastodon Challenge 15k
  • 5-08-16 – Mother’s Day 5K (for GOTR)
  • 5-12-16 – Albany Law Day Against domestic violence 5k ??
  • 5-14-16 – Summer 5k Addiction Awareness Run
  • 5-29-16 – Vermont City Marathon Relay

I signed up to be a STEM volunteer.  I will be running with the group on Wednesdays after work.

No monthly goals.

my motto for 2016

Since it is Thursday,  I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

thinking out loud

Happy Running! How did your March turn out?  Anything exciting planned for April?  What are y0u thinking about this Thursday?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “TOLT & My March Recap

  1. Nothing terribly exciting planned for April, but lots of exciting stuff in the months ahead (God willing!).

    Oddly enough, I think I’ll be ending March with about the same mileage as you, despite the fact that my half isn’t for 6 weeks.

    The gym can actually be good for tennis elbow — there are exercises you can do. They help. Even just simple stretches, which don’t require the gym. Doesn’t matter how you injured it, curing it is pretty much the same. Believe me, I’ve been there — when it hurt just to raise my tea mug.

    Thankfully it’s an injury you can run through. 🙂

    Like

    • You have an exciting May!

      I have been doing those exercise 3x day. I have even taped my elbow…it only hurts to straighten it and touch my elbow. I don’t have problems lifting things but I am sure it would hurt smashing a tennis ball for 1 1/2 hr.

      And yes, I can run but I have a tennis vacation in May where I play 3 hrs a day for 7 days. Gotta get healthy for that.

      Like

  2. Wow, you’ve got a lot of races coming up! The Lake George one sounds beautiful but why do the most beautiful races always have a lot of hills!?! After my half this weekend I’m looking forward to a bit of a break in training and just running for fun 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, I know except for Florida. They are flat!!

      Good luck in your half. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

      I say I need a break but then I sign up for another race!!

      Like

  3. Your race schedule looks packed 🙂
    You will easily hit the 100 mile goal again in May I bet.
    I never dreamed I would be so out of running shape at this point. I was supposed to have two races in April. I couldn’t defer one and decided not to on the other because I was so positive I would be back to running some…not sure what I will do now.
    I hope the elbow feeels better soon.

    Like

  4. Great month mileage!
    Those trail pictures look amazing. I bet they are so pretty in the summer all lush and green, although they still look pretty right now!
    What an exciting race calendar you have. You are amazing!

    Like

    • Since we had such a dry winter, let’s hope that the summer is not rainy!! (Although I want green grass & flowers but let it rain at night when I’m asleep.)

      Like

  5. We read Boston Girl for our book club a couple months ago. I found the book interesting but not as good as The Red Tent, an earlier book by the same author. Nice job on the month of March and adding some more age group hardware to your collection.

    Like

    • I have a copy of The Red Tent. There was book fair in NYC years ago and I got the author to sign my book. I have yet to read it. But now I think I will.

      Like

Leave a Reply

