Monday Running Update


mon r u
Last Week: 

  • Monday  A cold, rainy, dreary day but at least the rain stopped so I decided to go to my Freihofer Challenge Group Run. Then as soon as we started running, it started to pour. It rained for the entire run and stopped when we were done.  
  • Tuesday – No rain but lots of wind.  I left work early to meet my GOTR running buddy (Jayme, age 11) & then attended the GOTR orientation.  Afterwards, I walked the mall with my BFF who just returned from a month in FL. (Got my 10k steps in!!)
  • Wednesday A busy work day (and giving day).  Still had time for a walk and a group pic.

11255195_10154050333358787_4033738957702686740_o

My monthly dinner with tennis friends got cancelled (too many were sick ). Instead I ran in the park and yes, I ran up a hill (a few times.)

  • Thursday -Another rest day but I did go for a walk during work.  Ate dinner out. This time Thai food with two co-workers.
  • Friday – We started this at work today. My goal is 100 miles this month (walking + running):

MMM_VertLogo_2016_forweb_copy

At lunch we had a fun kick-off event.

april 1

oc

After work, I squeezed in a run before dinner (in between the rain) and mah jongg.

Our new mah jongg cards start on April 1 each year so it is always exciting the first time you play on them.  I won 2x so a good night.

  • Saturday – A rest day filled with all those things you have to get done because you work all week. But I did take a walk on the trail right behind my house.  Believe it or not, the last time I was on it was when we moved in 16 years ago.

just missed the rain

My hubby wanted to go out to dinner so I agreed…carb loading, right?

  • Sunday – A wintery mix with gusty winds was not the ideal weather for the Delmar Dash 5 mile race.  But actually the snow stayed on the lawns and wind was not unbearable until later on.

not happy with my performance but they all can’t be good races

We ran on the rail trail for most of it and saw 2 eagles

Luckily I had company for most of the 6 more miles I had to run after the race.

22.5 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days. 95,078 steps.

This Week:  (3 weeks until Half Marathon #19) 

  • Monday  Freihofer Challenge Group Run (3 miles??)
  • Tuesday – rest, tennis
  • Wednesday 3 mile run, STEM Couch To 5k run
  • Thursday3 mile run (before work or at lunch), hair appt.
  • Friday rest, mah jongg
  • Saturday 10K race + 6 miles (or 5k + 9 miles)
  • Sunday – rest
Once again, I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races?

runner-sig

23 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. Oh my gosh, seeing snow makes me cringe! We’ve had some really chilly days lately but likely no white stuff. Nice job on your workouts, Darlene! I love Thai food! My husband and I actually went to a Thai restaurant for our first date…apparently he was testing me to see if I would do ethnic food. Ha! 🙂 Have a great week!

    Like

    • 6 in of snow. Not what I had planned to run in. It’s supposed to get colder again this weekend. I want to move south. Lucky you!

      Like

  2. Good for you for getting it done in the tough weather ! I am looking forward to a recovery week ! Walking or run/walking just a bit every day.

    Like

  3. We’ve had a snowy rainy past few weeks here too. I don’t mind it we need the water. But you guys have more water than you can ever use so you’re probably just wanting spring now!
    That trail looks beautiful, you definitely need to not let so much time go by before running it a again, looks just gorgeous, I bet even more so in the summer!

    Like

  4. gosh…just when I think spring (or even summer!) is here, the weather turns nasty (again)> We have sub-freezing temps in the forecast…and rain/snow for the next several days. YUCK. It’s supposed to clear up (and warm up) for the weekend for my 5K…so there’s that. Glass Half Full. 😉

    Like

  5. That’s quite a week!! Love the step count total! I think you’re the only one I know who runs after just completing a race, but what a great way to get the first part of your mileage done. 😀 Hope you guys see spring soon… brrrr!!

    Like

    • I kmow. We got 6 inches yesterday and my group run was cancelled. It’s on for today but I don’t know if there will be any clear place to run 😦

      Like

  6. Got to love those rainy runs! 😉 How is your elbow? I see you aren’t playing tennis. My tennis elbow (and I DON”T play) lasted 11 months last year. (I had two steroid shots. Only the first one worked.) And then — poof — it was gone. What? You have a trail behind your house?? I’d like to do a 5k this weekend to work on my speed. I see you’ll be racing too. Good luck. Thanks for linking with us Darlene.

    Like

    • The elbow is the same….no better.

      Good luck to you this weekend.

      I still have to run 12 so I haven’t decided if I’m going to do the 5k or the 10k.

      Like

Leave a Reply

