Friday Five: Splitting Up Your Long Runs


Every Friday, three DC area bloggers Mar at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC to host the Friday Five linkup.  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

If you run 5 miles, stop and then 6 miles for your 11 mile long run, yes it counts as a 11 mile run.  At least it does in my book because that’s what I often do.

5 mile race + 6 = 11 miles

5 mile race + 6 = 11 miles

So My Friday Five topic is Five Reasons to Split Up Your Long Runs

  1. Weather or Scheduling Issues

Sometimes, it is raining or snowing so you start your run on the treadmill.  You don’t want to run 12 miles on the treadmill (At least I don’t) so when the weather improves, you continue your run outside.

So you don’t have time to run all 12 miles. You may run 6 miles before work and then 6 miles after work.  (I don’t do it often but I have done it.)

2. Vary the Scenery

I’ve run a 5 mile race in the neighborhood or a city

12961710_1150686451609249_4134798520562822503_n

and then continued my run on the rail trail or bike path.

img_9040

What a nice way to break it up.

You can also start on a hilly course (like I will do tomorrow) and finish on a flat course.

Your legs will be happy that you did.

3.  Practice Different Paces

If you start your run with a race and even if you say that it is just part of a long run, you will still run fast.

2nd

So when you continue your run, your pace will no doubt be slower.  For me, these races are my speed drills.

image

post race miles

4. Run with a Partner

It’s no secret that I enjoy running with someone else.  It’s not easy when you run at different paces or if you live in different locations or if I have signed up for a race.

So if I split up the run, I can run at least part of it with a friend.

image

And if it’s the second part of your run, you may even enjoy a post run snack together.

img_8733

5. It’s easier and more fun.

Running 6 miles, taking a break and running 6 miles is much easier than running 12 miles in one shot.

Will your endurance suffer?  How will it affect your finish times?

Not sure. I have never trained for a half marathon without a few split up long runs.

But I wouldn’t do all my training this way.   And it is better than skipping a long run.

5k race + 7.4 = 10.5 miles

5k race + 7.4 = 10.5 miles

Happy Running! Do you ever split up your long runs?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “Friday Five: Splitting Up Your Long Runs

  1. I’ve definitely done this before for timing reasons and it always seems fine. I wouldn’t do it all the time but sometimes it’s the only way to get that long run in!

    Like

  2. I am glad you brought this up. I hear people talk about splitting up their long runs but I’ve never done it. If I’m training for a half or full marathon I feel like I would want my training to simulate the race. I know during an 11 mile training run, i’d probably be tired around mile 11…lol, so I better get use to running the last few miles on tired legs. If I split my run up, I think that would give me a false sense of what I am capable of or how I might feel on race day. I’m glad to see that some people do it and that it works for you. I would just be afraid I would hit that wall come race day.

    Like

    • I don’t do it for all long runs but for some and mostly in the spring & fall. I haven’t noticed a difference in finish times but I’ve never run a marathon.

      Like

  3. Great post! I’ve run a race and then tacked on miles before or after to get the whole distance in or split the run. I’ve read it’s another great way to simulate muscle exhaustion for marathon training and it’s worked well. It’s also fun to split up with friends or multiple groups of friends!

    Like

  4. I have never tried splitting long runs, but I know some training plans do have 2 runs a day. So it is kind of the same thing, right ? I am just not sure if I would have the energy / motivation to go out again, once I have stopped.

    Like

Leave a Reply

